How can I get a library card, and how many books can I borrow?
A valid Redeemer University College I.D. card (student, staff, faculty or alumni) or a community borrower's card is required to check out books. A community borrower's card is available at no charge from the circulation desk. Community patrons may borrow a maximum of twenty (20) items, alumni a maximum of thirty (30), students fifty (50), faculty and staff, fifty (50). Of these, a maximum of ten (10) may be CD's and five (5) may be videos.
How long can I keep books, movies, CDs, etc?
The loan period for books and CDs is three (3) weeks for students, alumni and community borrowers and four (4) months for faculty and staff. The loan period for DVDs is one week. Please respect the due date issued when you check out library materials. Outstanding fines will be charged to your account. Students' marks will be withheld until their accounts are settled.
Can I renew my loans? How?
If library materials are neither overdue, nor requested by another borrower, they may be renewed. A maximum of two (2) renewals is allowed per item for students, staff or alumni. One (1) renewal is allowed for community borrowers. Go to your Borrower's Account to renew your own books online.
Will I have to pay a fine if I'm late returning my items?
The fine charged for the late return of books, CDs and videos is 50 cents per item, per day, with a maximum of $10 per item. Overdue fines for reserve loans are 5 cents per minute for 2 or 3 hour reserves and $1 per day for longer reserve loan periods. Recalls: $1 per day. Replacement charges: current cost of item including tax, shipping cost etc.) plus $10 processing fee. An unpaid balance of $20 or more will result in the loss of borrowing privileges.
Will I get any notice of overdue items?
It is the responsibility of library users to keep the library informed of their contact information (especially email adress). The non-receipt of library notices does not relieve the borrower from fines or suspension of privileges. Errors or misunderstanding must be reported promptly in order to be considered.
How can I get help finding something?
Reference services are available Monday to Friday, during daytime business hours. Please do not hesitate to approach a librarian with any of your research questions and problems.
Can I sign out journals? Reference books? Archives?
No, you cannot borrow any print periodicals, reference books or archival materials.
Can I book a study space for group work?
Desks for studying are available on a "first come first serve" basis. Users are asked to keep noise to a minimum in all study areas. Five study rooms are available for group work and must be booked through the Circulation Desk. The rooms may be booked for a maximum of two hours. Should the room not be booked at the end of the two-hour period, users may renew the booking for an additional time period but no longer than two additional hours.
Is there a photocopier or printer that I can use?
A card operated photocopier/printer is available. You must add money to your student card. A coin operated photocopier is also available. There is however, no coin operated printer available. Please see the I.T. Help Desk for assistance with photocopying or printing.
Can I use the Laminator?
Yes but it takes about 20 minutes to warm up. Please consult circulation desk staff at least 20 minutes prior to using the laminator. There is a charge of $1.00 per foot, rounded up to the nearest foot.
Do you have a printer or scanner I can use?
Printing and scanning can be done in the library. The photocopy machines scan to PDF and JPEG and can email these documents. Please see the I.T. Help Desk for assistance with printing or scanning.
Can I borrow from McMaster? other libraries?
The library has access to the holdings of thousands of libraries worldwide, including McMaster University. Redeemer students must obtain a McMaster External Borrower's Card application form at Redeemer's Research Assistance desk in order to borrow books from McMaster (please note that their electronic resources are NOT available to Redeemer students). Redeemer's reference librarians will search databases and request books, articles or theses from any library where they can be found (except McMaster). For further information, please see Inter-library loans (under Services & Help).
What is in the library collection?
The Peter Turkstra Library is available to university staff, faculty and students as well as to community borrowers. Established in 1982, the collection includes more than 100,000 print books and 140,000 e-books, thousands of periodical titles (in print and through full-text online databases), 2,250 music CDs and 880 DVDs. The Teacher Education Resource Centre houses curriculum materials to support the teacher education program. Special collections include the 4,000 volume Pascal & Custance Collections devoted to the relation of science and faith, the Netherlandic Collection of theological books in Dutch, and two digitized archival collections related to the history of education -- the Charlotte Mason Digital Collection and the Margaret Eaton School Digital Collection. .
Where can I find course reserves?
Some books and articles on course reading lists are kept on reserve behind the Circulation Desk. They must be requested by course number and title from the library assistant on duty. Only students may borrow reserve items; a valid Redeemer University College student I.D. card is required. Because of high demand for these items, the loan period is shorter (e.g. 2 hours or 24 hours). A maximum of 3 items may be borrowed at a time (no renewals, no holds, no recalls). For more information about what is on reserve for a particular course, go to the library catalogue (http://redeemer.on.worldcat.org) and click Course Reserves.
What's in the Reference Collection?
The reference collection includes a variety of dictionaries, directories, atlases, encyclopedias, almanacs and yearbooks. Please ask at the reference desk for assistance.
How can I find journal articles?
Thousands of full-text journal articles can be found using a variety of licensed databases. Please consult with reference librarians for assistance in using any of these.
How can I find a book?
The library catalogue lists all books available in the collection as well as the holdings of thousands of libraries around the world. Please consult with reference librarians for assistance.
What is the TERC?
Teacher Education Resource Centre (TERC): This collection contains more than 6,500 curriculum materials to support Redeemer’s teacher education program. These materials may be borrowed by anyone with a valid library card.