Skip to main content
LibraryHoursLibrary SearchOff-campus AccessRenew LoansDashRedeemer UniversityCollege

Library: EBSCOhost Web Help

1. Select New Service: Click 'EBSCOhost Web'

2. Choose Database(s) relevant to your topic (or click Select all):

3. Advanced Search (adapt these search techniques to your own topic)

The following search is for a psychology course but you can adapt the database searching principles to other topics by choosing different databases and different search terms.

My topic is adolescent spirituality (for a psychology course) so I have chosen the PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES databases.  I  have grouped related terms in each search box, using the OR connector. My results will include records with:

  • any of the terms related to 'adolescent'
  • AND any of the terms related to 'spirituality'
  • The truncation symbol (*) finds results with any ending (e.g. religio* FINDS religion, religious, religiosity)
  • AND finds results with BOTH terms (e.g. spirituality AND adolescent)
  • OR finds results with EITHER term (e.g. adolescents OR teenagers OR youth)
  • My search terms will be in the Subject Terms field so the articles will be ABOUT this (not simply mention the words anywhere in the record, in a different context).

4. Refine your Results

Use the limiters on the left to refine your search results, e.g. full-text, recently published (past 5 years) empirical studies in scholarly (peer reviewed) journals, related to adolescent humans.

5. Read the Abstracts & Add Records to your Folder

Hover your mouse over the magnifying glass to see the abstract (summary of the article).  Then you can click the folder icon in order to add it to your folder. Once you've selected your records, you can save, print, or export an entire folder.

6. View your Folder by clicking either of these links:

7. Folder contents: Print, Email, Save, Export

8. Click the title for Full Record Display & Help with Citing the Source

View the full record display in order to get help with citing this article (APA, MLA, Chicago style).

9. Citing Help: Click Cite and then scroll down to the style of your choice

10. Finding the Permalink (Permanent URL):

  1. Click Permalink in the bottom right.
  2. A box with the permanent URL will appear at the top of the record.
  3. Right click on the link in order to copy and paste it.

11. Sign in to MyEBSCO: Create a personalized account

  1. Click Sign In near the top of your screen.
  2. Click "Create a new Account."
  3. Follow the steps to create an account with a password of your own choice.
  4. Once you have an account, you can save your search results into folders for future reference.
  5. You can share your folders with others (e.g. for group work).

12. Creating Folders in MyEBSCO (for future reference or sharing with others)

  1. Inside your own account in MyEBSCO, click the New Folder icon.
  2. A window will open which asks you to provide a Folder Name, e.g. "Adolescent Spirituality"

13. Add records to a New Folder in MyEBSCO

  1. Once you have created a new Folder, go back to My Folder.
  2. Select the articles you'd like to move.
  3. Click "Move To" and select your folder from the list that appears.

Search EBSCOhost Databases

Go to EBSCOhost Services and select EBSCOhost Web. Then select your database(s).

Peter Turkstra Library,  Redeemer University College , 777 Garner Road East, Ancaster, ON, L9K 1J4, Canada
Circulation Desk Telephone: 905.648.2139 ext. 4266, Email:   library@redeemer.ca