Skip to main content
LibraryHoursLibrary SearchOff-campus AccessRenew LoansDashRedeemer UniversityCollege

Library: Borrowing Policies

Faculty Borrowing Policies

The Peter Turkstra Library is available to faculty, staff and students as well as to community borrowers.  The collection includes books and e-books for undergraduates, thousands of periodical titles (print and online), music CDs and DVDs. The Teacher Education Resource Centre houses curriculum materials to support the teacher education program.   Special collections include the Pascal Centre/Custance Collection devoted to the study of science and faith, and two digitized archival collections related to the history of education, the Charlotte Mason Digital Collection and the Margaret Eaton School Digital Collection.  The library has reference computers, a teaching lab with 35 computers, 2 computer labs and group study rooms. 

Library Cards

If you have a Redeemer University College campus card, this will be used as your library card. Please present it at the circulation desk and staff will register you in the library database. If you do not have an I.D. card, please email a “head-shot” photo of yourself to Janice (jdraksler@redeemer.ca) to set up one for you.

Faculty Loan Periods

  • Books & CDs can be borrowed for 4 months.
  • DVDs can be borrowed for one week.
  • Items can be renewed (twice).
  • After two renewals, items must be returned to the library.  
  • Items which cannot be taken out of the library include: periodicals, reference books and archival materials.

Loan Limits, Fines/Replacement Costs

Faculty will be allowed to sign out a maximum of 50 books for a 4 month loan period.  Faculty who have overdue loans will be charged the regular fines that all other library patrons are charged.  If overdue books are not returned, faculty will be issued an invoice for the replacement of the book.

Recalls

If a student requests a book that has been signed out to a faculty member, the book will be ‘recalled’. Faculty will be asked to return the book to the library within 48 hours (or as soon as possible). The faculty member may request that the book be returned to him/her after the student has finished with it (usually after 3 weeks).

Fines
  • Overdue books, CDs and videos: 50 cents per item, per day, with a maximum of $10 per item.
  • Overdue reserve loans (including Study Room keys) is 5 cents per minute for 2 or 3 hour reserves and $1 per day for longer reserve loan periods.
  • Overdue recalls: $1 per day. 
  • Replacement charges: current cost of item (including tax, shipping cost etc.) plus $10 processing fee. If an item has been overdue for more than one month, it will be considered a lost item and an invoice email will be sent out.
  • An unpaid balance of $20 or more will result in the loss of borrowing privileges. 
  • Further information is available under Library Services & Policies.

Peter Turkstra Library,  Redeemer University College , 777 Garner Road East, Ancaster, ON, L9K 1J4, Canada
Circulation Desk Telephone: 905.648.2139 ext. 4266, Email:   library@redeemer.ca