Skip to main content
LibraryHoursLibrary SearchOff-campus AccessRenew LoansDashRedeemer UniversityCollege

Library: PubMed Help

1. Select PMC (PubMed Central). PubMed Central is a free full-text subset of the PubMed database. Then click Advanced Search.

PubMed comprises more than 21 million citations for biomedical literature from life science journals, online books and MEDLINE, a database maintained by the US National Library of Medicine and the National Institutes of Health. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central & publisher web sites (often not free).  

PubMed Central is a  sub-set of PubMed. Includes citations and free full text articles.

2. Select one of the Medical Subject Headings (MeSH) fields to search. Do not use truncation (*) in PMC.

3. Select your citations. Then click 'Send to' and create a text file.

4. Open the txt file and notice that the journal titles are abbreviated. You will need to add the complete titles for your bibliography references.

5. Scroll to the bottom of the page and click 'Literature' under Resources. Then click 'Journals in NCBI Databases.' Then you can copy and paste the abbreviated journal title from your txt file into the box. The complete title will appear.

Search PubMed Central

As you scroll through this guide (on the left),  create your own search in PubMed Central:

  1. Click here to open PubMed Central in a new window.
  2. If it opens in a new tab, right-click on the tab and move it to a new window.
  3. Re-size your windows and display them side by side.
  4. As you scroll through the guide (in one window), you can try each step in the other window.

Peter Turkstra Library,  Redeemer University College , 777 Garner Road East, Ancaster, ON, L9K 1J4, Canada
Circulation Desk Telephone: 905.648.2139 ext. 4266, Email:   library@redeemer.ca