PHL 220: Asian Philosophy

It offers the non-specialist a way to explore non-European philosophical terrain and to connect work in one tradition to philosophical ideas or texts from another. Sections on Chinese Philosophy, Indian Philosophy, Buddhist Philosophy, East Asian Philosophy, African Philosophy, and Recent Trends in Global Philosophy are each edited by an expert in the field. Each section includes a general introduction and a set of articles written by scholars, designed to provide a broad overview of a major topic or figure.

This book gives nonspecialists an entry to primary texts from India, China, and Japan. The text includes material on Buddhism, Daoism, the Bhagavad Gita, and the Kyoto school of Japanese philosophy. In the contexts section, it discusses the integration of Asian material that includes considerations of religion, philosophy, history, and art.

This book provides a complete overview of the historical development of the major Eastern traditions of religious and philosophical thought (in India, China, and Japan). It guides readers in recognizing the interrelationships that exist among the various systems, appreciating the relevance of these traditions to the concerns of modern times, and understanding the major issues of interpretation regarding these systems. The book surveys the schools within the Hindu, Buddhist, Confucianism, Taoism, and Shintoism traditions. The book explores the common ground shared by Eastern and Western traditions.

Eastern Philosophy: The Basics is an introduction to major Indian and Chinese philosophies. It explores familiar metaphysical and ethical questions from the perspectives of different Eastern philosophies, including Confucianism, Daoism, and strands of Buddhism and Hinduism, this book covers key figures, issues, methods and concepts. Questions discussed include: What is the self ? Is human nature inherently good or bad? How is the mind related to the world? How can you live an authentic life?

Through a diverse collection of carefully chosen selections, Readings in Philosophy of Religion: East Meets West offers an enlightening array of perspectives on Western and non-Western religious thought that makes more meaningful trans-cultural connections possible within philosophy of religion. Includes a substantial selection of non-Western religious perspectives that are accessible to both students and instructors Provides further clarity with comprehensive chapter introductions to orient reader to upcoming selections Incorporates discussion of topics often neglected, such as religious non-realism, post-modernism, and feminist philosophy of religion

This is an introduction to the main schools of Indian philosophy within the Hindu and Buddhist traditions. Richard King analyzes the schools' doctrines and compares their approaches to specific topics: ontology, epistemology, perception, consciousness, and creation and causality. He also looks at the important contributions made by individuals, such as Bhartrhari, who helped introduce linguistic analysis into Indian philosophy; Nagarjuna, the reputed founder of the Mahayana or "Middle Way" school; and Asanga, the believed founder of the Yogacara or "Practice of Yoga" school. King also examines western perceptions of Indian philosophy.

This book introduces and analyzes the major Asian philosophical and religious traditions and provides insights into the ways in which fundamental philosophical questions have been considered in Asia. The third edition of Asian Philosophies has been revised to include new chapters on Islam and Jainism; Buddhist Philosophies; and new sections on the rectification of names, new examples from the Chuang Tzu , a clearer presentation of Neo-Confucianism, and a new section on post-Maoist thought, and Chinese Philosophies.

Covering myths and origins, major thinkers and practitioners, rituals, symbols, practice today, and more, this book provides an accessible, fully illustrated introduction to the major religions and philosophies of China, Japan, and India. 112 color illustrations. 56 black & white illustrations.

Through detailed explorations of the full range of Indian philosophical concerns, including some metaphilosophical issues, it provides readers with non-Western perspectives on central areas of philosophy, including epistemology, logic, metaphysics, ethics, philosophy of language, and philosophy of religion. Translated Sanskrit texts are accompanied by authorial explanations and contextualisations, giving the reader an understanding of the argumentative context and philosophical style of Indian texts.

Marietta Stepaniants' introductory text allows a distinctively Eastern way of thinking to come forth. Four interpretive essays open the book showing how Indian, Chinese and Islamic traditions responded to these questions: How did philosophy arise? What is the origin of order in the universe? What is human nature? What is truth? A fifth, unique, essay shows how Eastern thought has dealt with Western contact in the 19th and 20th centuries. In the second half of the book, original writings--ancient and modern--are placed in their cultural context by the author and give access to the thinkers' specific arguments. Unlike any other text, Introduction to Eastern Thought includes Islamic philosophies alongside Indian and Chinese traditions. This broader sense of "the East," the combination of interpretive essays and original sources, the sense of Eastern philosophies as alive and ongoing, are unrivalled by any other textbook. Comparisons within and across traditions make Introduction to Eastern Thought an excellent text for students familiar with Western philosophy or beginning philosophy students.

This fascinating new history of Chinese philosophy places great emphasis on the interaction between philosophical and historical movements in China from prehistory to the twentieth century. As a result, it is an ideal way to follow China's often complex social and historical processes—with philosophical movements serving as signposts. From the earliest attempts at divination, feudal systems, and treatises on war and strategy, the book blooms in showing the flowering of some of China's greatest philosophical traditions—including Daosim, Confucianism, Mohism, and Legalism—and how they ebb and flow, changing and evolving with major and minor alterations through the centuries.