Guides: THR 226 & HIS 214: History of Theatre II: A Doll's House

A Doll's House

Featured Print Books - select hyperlink to see call #
Featured ebooks - select hyperlink and access online

Approaches to Teaching Ibsen's A Doll House by Yvonne Shafer (Editor)
ISBN: 9780873524872
Publication Date: 1985-03-26
Yvonne Shafer edited this essay collection as part of the Approaches to Teaching Masterpieces of World Literature series. Contributors read the play through a variety of critical lenses including Marxist and feminist.
Rooms in Dramatic Realism by Fred Miller Robinson
ISBN: 9781138953635
Publication Date: 2015-12-11
Includes relevant chapter: "Inside and Outside A Doll's House"
Replay: Classic Modern Drama Reimagined by Toby Zinman
ISBN: 9781408182680
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Includes relevant chapter: "A Doll's House"
Henrik Ibsen by Sally Ledger
ISBN: 9780746311684
Publication Date: 2008-09-01
Includes relevant chapter: "Ibsenism and A Doll's House"
Henrik Ibsen and the Birth of Modernism: Art, Theater, Philosophy by Toril Moi
ISBN: 9780199295876
Publication Date: 2006-08-24
Includes relevant chapter: "'First and Foremost a Human Being': Idealism, Theater, and Gender in A Doll's House"
Living Theatre: History of the Theatre by Edwin Wilson; Alvin Goldfarb
ISBN: 9780073514123
Publication Date: 2006-12-11
Includes relevant chapter: "Ibsen's Realism: A Doll's House"

Henrik Ibsen: A Doll's House by S. H. Siddall
ISBN: 9781847600592
Publication Date: 2008-01-01
Stephen Siddall's study of one of Ibsen's most innovative plays places it firmly in the context of nineteenth century European theatre, novelty theatre, and the society of Norway of its time. The book discusses responses to Ibsen, especially those of George Bernard Shaw and William Archer in London, and the relationship of the play to issues of theatrical censorship.
Readings on A Doll's House by Hayley R. Mitchell
ISBN: 9780737700480
Publication Date: 1999-03-01
This drama by Ibsen is discussed in essays on its structure, characters, and the sociological implications of Nora's leaving. Hayley Mitchell edited this volume as part of The Greenhaven Press Literary Companion to World Literature series.
Introduction to Nordic Cultures by Annika Lindskog (Editor); Jakob Stougaard-Nielsen (Editor)
ISBN: 9781787354036
Publication Date: 2020-01-01
Includes relevant chapter: "Nora: The Life and Afterlife of Henrik Ibsen's A Doll's House"
The Serious Game: Ingmar Bergman as Stage Director by Egil Törnqvist
ISBN: 9789048523672
Publication Date: 2015-08-15
Includes relevant chapter: "Henrik Ibsen, A Doll's House"
Home on the Stage: Domestic Spaces in Modern Drama by Nicholas Grene
ISBN: 9781107078093
Publication Date: 2014-10-02
Includes relevant chapter: "A Doll's House: The Drama of the Interior"
Constructing Identities: The Interaction of National, Gender and Racial Borders by Antonio Medina-Rivera (Editor); Lee Wilberschied (Editor)
ISBN: 9781299765436
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Includes relevant chapter: "Feminism, Modernity, and Premodernity in Japan and the West: Fumiko Enchi's The Waiting Years and Henrik Ibsen's A Doll's House"