Guides: THR 226 & HIS 214: History of Theatre II: The Cherry Orchard

The Cherry Orchard

Featured Print Books - select hyperlink to see call #
Featured ebooks - select hyperlink and access online

The Cambridge Companion to Chekhov by Vera Gottlieb (Editor); Paul Allain (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521581172
Publication Date: 2000-11-09
Includes relevant chapter: "The Cherry Orchard"
Understanding Chekhov: A Critical Study of Chekhov's Prose and Drama by Donald Rayfield
ISBN: 9780299163143
Publication Date: 1999-07-06
Includes relevant chapter: "The Cherry Orchard"
Chekhov's Plays: An Opening into Eternity by Richard Gilman
ISBN: 9780300064612
Publication Date: 1996-02-01
Includes relevant chapters: "The Cherry Orchard, or 'An Aperture into Eternity'"
World Theater: The Structure and Meaning of Drama by Seymour Reiter
ISBN: 9780818005039
Publication Date: 1973-02-01
Includes relevant chapter: "Chekhov's The Cherry Orchard"
Reflections in a Lake: A Study of Chekhov's Four Greatest Plays by Caryl Brahms
ISBN: 9780297771944
Publication Date: 1976-01-01
Includes relevant chapter: "The Cherry Orchard"
Elements of Tragedy by Dorothea Krook-Gilead
ISBN: 9780300011623
Publication Date: 1969-01-01
Includes relevant chapter: "Tragic and Comic: Chekhov's The Seagull and The Cherry Orchard"

The Cherry Orchard: Catastrophe and Comedy by Donald Rayfield
ISBN: 9780805783643
Publication Date: 1994-03-01
In this astute analysis of Chekhov's last play, Donald Rayfield argues that The Cherry Orchard can be best understood when read as a culmination of the dramatist's major plays, particularly The Seagull and Three Sisters. Stressing that Chekhov the playwright is inseparable from Chekhov the story writer, Rayfield points out instances in which the author reuses material from such classic stories as "A Visit to Friends," "Panpipes," "The Black Monk," and "The Bride."
Working on the Play and the Role: The Stanislavsky Method for Analyzing the Characters in a Drama by Irina Levin
ISBN: 9781461720980
Publication Date: 1992-01-01
Includes relevant chapter: "Analysis of The Cherry Orchard"
Close Encounters: Essays on Russian Literature by Robert Louis Jackson
ISBN: 9781936235568
Publication Date: 2013-03-01
Includes relevant chapter: "'What Time Is It? Where Are We Going?': Chekhov's The Cherry Orchard: The Story of a Verb"
The Name and Nature of Tragicomedy by Verna A. Foster
ISBN: 9781351885355
Publication Date: 2017-03-02
Includes relevant chapter: "Chekhov: The Cherry Orchard"
Fritz Bennewitz in India: Intercultural Theatre with Brecht and Shakespeare by Joerg Esleben; Rohmer Rolf (Other); David G. John (Other)
ISBN: 9781487510893
Publication Date: 2018-09-28
Includes relevant chapter: "Mysore, 1991: Chekhov, The Cherry Orchard"
Ibsen and Chekhov on the Irish Stage by Ros Dixon; Irina Ruppo Malone
ISBN: 9781904505655
Publication Date: 2012-05-20
Includes two relevant chapters: "'All of Ireland is Our Orchard': Maria Knebel's Production of The Cherry Orchard at the Abbey in 1968: Ros Dixon" and "Tom Murphy's The Cherry Orchard in the Context of Irish Rewritings of Chekhov: Zsuzsa Csiskai"