Guides: THR 226 & HIS 214: History of Theatre II: Pygmalion

Pygmalion

Pygmalion's Wordplay: The Postmodern Shaw by Jean Reynolds
ISBN: 9780813016818
Publication Date: 1999-04-27
In the first book-length treatment of Bernard Shaw as a postmodern writer, Jean Reynolds offers a fresh interpretation of Pygmalion, one of Shaw's most enduring plays. Challenging widely held assumptions about Shaw, she maintains that he critiqued conventional notions about language and psychology long before such iconoclasts as Jacques Derrida and James Hillman came on the scene. Reynolds calls Pygmalion "the Shavian creation myth".
Bernard Shaw and Beatrice Webb on Poverty and Equality in the Modern World, 1905-1914 by Peter Gahan
ISBN: 9783319484419
Publication Date: 2017-03-06
Includes relevant chapter: "1914: On Redistribution and War: Pygmalion"
Bernard Shaw by Michael Holroyd
ISBN: 9781845951856
Publication Date: 2011-01-01
Includes relevant chapter: "The History of Pygmalion"
Doctors in Fiction: Lessons from Literature by Borys Surawicz; Beverly Jacobson
ISBN: 9781846193286
Publication Date: 2009-04-25
Includes relevant chapter: "Pygmalion and Three Other Plays by George Bernard Shaw"
Shaw's Theater by Bernard F. Dukore
ISBN: 9780813017570
Publication Date: 2000-04-30
Includes relevant chapter: "The Director as Interpreter: Shaw's Pygmalion"

Readings on Pygmalion by Gary Weiner (Editor)
ISBN: 9780737701906
Publication Date: 2002-01-18
Essays in this anthology explore the genesis of the play, its characters, and Shaw's themes and techniques. A final section traces the play's metamorphosis into musical and film productions.
Modern British Drama on Screen by R. Barton Palmer (Editor); William Robert Bray (Editor)
ISBN: 9780511734311
Publication Date: 2013-12-05
Includes two relevant chapters: "Playful Banter in Shaw's Pygmalion" and "Educating Rita and the Pygmalion Effect: Gender, Class, and Adaptation Anxiety"
Shakespeare Adaptation Modern Drama by Randall Martin; Katherine Scheil
ISBN: 9781442641747
Publication Date: 2011-07-02
Includes relevant chapter: "An Experiment in Teaching: Pygmalion, My Fair Lady and the Pursuit of Happiness"
Imagining Autism: Fiction and Stereotypes on the Spectrum by Sonya Freeman Loftis
ISBN: 9780253018137
Publication Date: 2015-12-01
Includes relevant chapter: "The Autistic Savant: Pygmalion, Saint Joan, and the Neurodiversity Movement"
Cinematic Mythmaking: Philosophy in Film by Irving Singer
ISBN: 9780262283694
Publication Date: 2010-09-24
Includes relevant chapter: "Pygmalion Variations"
Cities of Words: Pedagogical Letters on a Register of the Moral Life by Stanley Cavell
ISBN: 9780674971264
Publication Date: 2005-10-31
Includes relevant chapter: "G.B. Shaw: Pygmalion and Pygmalion"