Guides: Applied Social Sciences: Articles

Redeemer Databases

Recommended Journals and Databases

Here are links to a few Social Work journals that we recommend you use for your research.

Here are links to a few Sociology journals that we recommend you use for your research.

"A systematic review attempts to identify, appraise and synthesize all the empirical evidence that meets pre-specified eligibility criteria to answer a specific research question. Researchers conducting systematic reviews use explicit, systematic methods that are selected with a view aimed at minimizing bias, to produce more reliable findings to inform decision making." (Source)

Here are some places to find relevant systematic reviews.

Campbell Collaboration
"The Campbell Collaboration is the home for evidence synthesis across the whole of social policy and the social sciences. Our research work is led by 11 coordinating groups."

Campbell Systematic Reviews
This is a direct link for the Campbell Systematic Reviews journal. It is indexed and fully searchable through ProQuest and PubMed.

Cochrane Libraries
"The Cochrane Library . . . is a collection of databases that contain different types of high-quality, independent evidence to inform healthcare decision-making." (Source: About Cochrane Library) Note: Includes Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews

National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools: Health Evidence "Health Evidence™ is a database maintained by the National Collaborating Centre for Methods and Tools (NCCMT). Our goal is to provide a best-in-class resource of high-quality synthesis evidence to support public health decision making. Health Evidence™ includes quality-appraisals on peer reviewed, published evidence syntheses evaluating the effectiveness and cost-effectiveness of public health interventions."
PubMed "To search for systematic reviews in PubMed . . . enter your search terms followed by AND systematic[sb] in the search box. For example, lyme disease AND systematic[sb]."