"Before the ACI, accessible and authoritative information on the lives and work of Canadian visual artists was hard to find. We are creating a central digital resource to tell the world about Canada’s most important works of art and where they are located. By functioning as an online art museum, a digital library, and an interactive Canadian art encyclopedia, the ACI is an indispensable resource on Canada’s visual heritage."
"Founded in 2013, the Canadian Online Art Book Project is a growing digital library of books–all original works commissioned by the Art Canada Institute–by the country’s leading art experts on artists who have made a critical contribution to the evolution of the nation’s art history."
"The McMaster Museum of Art houses McMaster University’s permanent collection of more than 6000 objects that encompass the history of art from the late 15th to the 21st century, and coins and antiquities from Mediterranean cultures and China."
"accessCeramics is a growing collection of images of contemporary ceramics by recognized artists. It is designed for use by artists, arts educators, scholars and the general public, and is intended to fill a void in contemporary ceramics digital image collections on the web."
Supported by Smithsonian Libraries and Archives, BHL makes biodiversity literature openly available. Images in BHL Flickr are freely available and over 2 million BHL images are uploaded to the IA Book Images Flickr stream.
Over half of the museum’s collection (including 3D images) is available for public use, with capacity to share, collaborate, remix, and reuse images. Portions of collection information for more than 64,000 artworks, both in the public domain and those with copyright or other restrictions, are also available.
The IMA is an encyclopedic art museum, offering over 20,000 artworks, with many in the public domain. Includes information such as the date of death of the artist to demarcate artworks in the public domain (artist must have passed more than 70 years ago).
“The Getty Open Content Program makes high-resolution images of art freely available. The J. Paul Getty Museum houses European paintings, drawings, sculpture, illuminated manuscripts, decorative arts, and photography from the beginnings to the present, gathered internationally.”
"Public entity that oversees the 14 municipal museums of Paris. Offers as Open Content 150,000 digital reproductions in high definition of works in the city’s museums."
"Download, share, and reuse millions of open access images. Access more than 4.5 million 2D and 3D digital items from the collections. Includes images and data from across the Smithsonian’s 21 museums, nine research centers, libraries, archies, and the National Zoo."
