Guides: ENG 251: Children's Literature: Peter Pan

Peter Pan

Featured Print Books - select hyperlink to see call #
Featured ebooks - select hyperlink and access online

The Future of the Nineteenth-Century Dream-Child : fantasy, dystopia, cyberculture by Amy Billone
ISBN: 9780367346225
Publication Date: 2019-05-17
Peter Pan's Shadows in the Literary Imagination by Kirsten Stirling
ISBN: 9781138849693
Publication Date: 2014-11-10
This book is a literary analysis of J.M. Barrie's Peter Pan in all its different versions -- key rewritings, dramatisations, prequels, and sequels -- and includes a synthesis of the main critical interpretations of the text over its history. A comprehensive and intelligent study of the Peter Pan phenomenon, this study discusses the book's complicated textual history, exploring its origins in the Harlequinade theatrical tradition and British pantomime in the nineteenth century.
God of the Fairy Tale: Finding Truth in the Land of Make-Believe by Jim Ware
ISBN: 9780877880493
Publication Date: 2003-10-21
Includes relevant chapter: "Flight: Soaring on Wings of Childlike Faith: Peter Pan"
Modern Drama: Defining the Field by Ric Knowles (Editor); Joanne Tompkins (Editor); W. B. Worthen (Editor)
ISBN: 9780802086211
Publication Date: 2003-08-11
Includes relevant chapter: "Hauntings: Anxiety, Technology, and Gender in Peter Pan"
The Gospel According to Disney: Faith, Trust, and Pixie Dust by Mark I. Pinsky
ISBN: 9780664225919
Publication Date: 2004-07-14
Includes relevant chapter: "Peter Pan (1953): Faith, Trust, and Pixie Dust"
The Gospel in Disney: Christian Values in the Early Animated Classics by Philip Longfellow Anderson
ISBN: 9780806649443
Publication Date: 2004-01-09
Includes relevant chapter: "You and Your Shadow: Peter Pan"
The Disney Films by Leonard Maltin
ISBN: 9780786885275
Publication Date: 2000-08-28
Includes relevant chapter: "Peter Pan"

Peter Pan and the Mind of J.M. Barrie: An Exploration of Cognition and Consciousness by Rosalind Ridley
ISBN: 9781443896603
Publication Date: 2016-01-01
This book explores the texts of Peter Pan in Kensington Gardens and Peter and Wendy. Rosalind Ridley argues that Barrie describes the limited mental abilities of infants and animals in order to illuminate the structure of human adult cognition.
A Study of Film Adaptations of James Barrie's Story Peter Pan by Casie Hermansson
ISBN: 9780779980529
Publication Date: 2016-09-07
This book brings together and modifies Riffaterre's concept of ungrammaticalities and Freud's idea of the uncanny. It provides a reading of one of the most unique sets of texts in British print culture. Casie Hermansson supplies literary critics with a way to connect the Peter Pan texts to other major stylistic and narrative trends in the early part of twentieth-century Britain.
Barrie, Hook, and Peter Pan: Studies in Contemporary Myth by Alfonso Muñoz Corcuera
ISBN: 9781443842822
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
This book is opens a space for the deepening of the figure of Peter Pan in its triple status as myth, twentieth-century cultural icon and literary character. This multidisciplinary collection of critical essays covers a variety of disciplines ranging from literary theory and psychoanalysis to postcolonial studies, comparative literature and pedagogy. Contributors come from very diverse geographic regions such as Scotland, Mexico, Ethiopia, the U.S., Spain and France.
Second Star to the Right: Peter Pan in the Popular Imagination by Allison Kavey (Editor); Lester Friedman (Editor)
ISBN: 9780813546223
Publication Date: 2008-11-28
The engaging essays in Second Star to the Right approach Peter Pan from literary, dramatic, film, television, and sociological perspectives and, in the process, analyze his emergence and preservation in the cultural imagination. Chapters are devoted to such subjects as epistemology, film adaptations, and gender.
J.M. Barrie's Peter Pan in and out of Time: A Children's Classic at 100 by Donna R. White
ISBN: 9781461659938
Publication Date: 2006-01-01
Celebrating 100 years of Peter Pan, this fourth volume in the Centennial Studies series explores the cultural contents of Barrie's creation and the continuing impact of Peter Pan on children's literature and popular culture today, especially focusing on the fluctuations of time and narrative strategies. Students and enthusiasts of children's literature will find their understanding of Peter Pan immensely broadened after reading this volume.
Now or Neverland: Peter Pan and the Myth of Eternal Youth: A Psychological Perspective on a Cultural Icon by Ann Yeoman
ISBN: 9780919123830
Publication Date: 1999-01-01
Now or Neverland provides a Jungian psychological overview of the eternal boy archetype, from its ancient roots in characters such as Pan, Dionysius, Icarus and Hermes, up to the present day. The author helps us understand how we can relate to puer aeternus psychology and the fantasy life within us to enrich our lives.