Guides: ENG 346: 19th-Century Literature: Victorian: David Strauss

David Strauss

Featured Print Books - select hyperlink to see call #
Featured ebooks - select hyperlink and access online

Science and Religion, 1450-1900: From Copernicus to Darwin by Richard G. Olson
ISBN: 9780801884009
Publication Date: 2006-03-10
Includes relevant chapter: "David Strauss and the Use of Science to Reject Evangelical Christianity"
A History of Biblical Interpretation by Alan J. Hauser (Editor); Duane F. Watson (Editor)
ISBN: 9780802842732
Publication Date: 2003-11-04
Includes relevant chapter: "David Friedrich Strauss and Ludwig Feuerbach: The Rise of Sturm und Drang in Biblical Scholarship"
The Bible in Modern Culture: Theology and Historical-Critical Method from Spinoza to Käsemann by Roy A. Harrisville; Walter Sundberg
ISBN: 9780802808738
Publication Date: 1995-08-01
Includes relevant chapter: "David Friedrich Strauss"
Nineteenth Century Religious Thought in the West by Ninian Smart (Editor); John Clayton (Editor); Patrick Sherry (Editor); Steven T. Katz (Editor)
ISBN: 9780521228312
Publication Date: 1985-03-21
Includes relevant chapter: "David Friedrich Strauss"
Modern Christian Thought: From the Enlightenment to Vatican II by James C. Livingston
ISBN: 9780023714207
Publication Date: 1971-03-01
Includes relevant chapter: "David Friedrich Strauss"
The Quest of the Historical Jesus: A Critical Study of its Progress from Reimarus to Wrede by Albert Schwietzer
ISBN: 9780713606997
Publication Date: 1968-01-01
Includes three relevant chapters: "David Friedrich Strauss: The Man and His Fate", "Strauss's First 'Life of Jesus'", and "Strauss's Opponents and Supporters"

The "Nocturnal Side of Science" in David Friedrich Strauss's Life of Jesus Critically Examined by Thomas Fabisiak
ISBN: 9781628371109
Publication Date: 2015-06-01
This book takes a close look at how Strauss's engagement with popular and scholarly controversies influenced his study of the Gospels. Thomas Fabisiak illuminates unfamiliar features of early nineteenth-century theology, philosophy, and medicine showing how spirituality and science blended together in these fields. He also demonstrates the importance of Western esotericism and popular religion in the history of modern biblical studies and sheds new light on Strauss's study of the Gospels as myths.
Kierkegaard and the Theology of the Nineteenth Century: The Paradox and the 'Point of Contact' by George Pattison
ISBN: 9781139776592
Publication Date: 2012-01-01
Includes relevant chapter: "David Friedrich Strauss"
Religion among We the People: Conversations on Democracy and the Divine Good by Franklin I. Gamwell
ISBN: 9781438458090
Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Includes relevant chapter: "On Constitutional Authority: A Conversation with David Strauss"
Between Faith and Unbelief: American Transcendentalists and the Challenge of Atheism by Elisabeth Hurth
ISBN: 9789047421269
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
Includes two relevant chapters: "The Arch-Fiend of Christian Faith: David Friedrich Strauss and New England Divinity" and "The Claims of History: Strauss's 'Mytho-Mania' and After"
A Half-Century of Greatness: The Creative Imagination of Europe, 1848-1884 by Frederic Ewen; Jeffrey L. Wollock; Aaron Kramer
ISBN: 9780814722459
Publication Date: 2007-09-01
Includes relevant chapter: "David Friedrich Strauss"
Untimely Meditations by R. J. Hollingdale; Friedrich Nietzsche
ISBN: 9780511005497
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Includes relevant chapter: "David Strauss, the Confessor and the Writer"