Do a preliminary search on your topic, e.g., "Christian perspectives on movies":
View the Descriptions of relevant books and notice the Subjects field:
Then try an Advanced Search using keywords from the above Subject headings:
AND finds all terms
OR finds either term
religio* (* truncation symbol) finds any ending, e.g., religion, religious, religiosity
The library is arranged by subject, using the Library of Congress call number system -- which is used by most academic libraries. Scroll down for an outline of the subject arrangement. More details can be found here.
The letters at the top are arranged alphabetically.
Books having the same letter(s) on the top line are distinguished by the numbers that follow, shelved numerically.
If those lines are the same, the books are distinguished by the letters that follow, which are shelved alphabetically.
If those lines are identical, the next numbers are arranged decimally (not numerically).
|A GENERAL WORKS|
|B PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION|
|BH-BJ||Aesthetics & Ethics|
|C AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY|
|CB||History of Civilization|
|D HISTORY: GENERAL AND OLD WORLD|
|DJK-DK||Eastern Europe, Russia & Poland|
|DU||Australia, New Zealand|
|E-F HISTORY: AMERICA|
|E 151-||United States History (includes African-American Studies at E 185)|
|F 1-975||United States Local History (includes St. Louis at F 474 & Missouri at F 466)|
|F 1001-||Other Countries (includes Canada, & countries of Central & South America)|
|G GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION|
|GT||Manners & Customs|
|GV||Recreation & Leisure|
|H SOCIAL SCIENCES|
|HE||Transportation & Communication (includes radio & television broadcasting)|
|HF||Commerce (includes business administration, accounting, advertising & marketing)|
|HM||General Sociology (includes mass media communication, public opinion, & public relations)|
|HQ||Family, Marriage, & Women|
|HT||Communities, Classes, & Races|
|HV||Social Pathology, Social & Public Welfare, & Criminology|
|HX||Socialism, Communism, & Anarchism|
|J POLITICAL SCIENCE|
|JF||Constitutional History & Government Administration|
|JS||Local Governments (municipal, etc.)|
|JX||International Law & International Relations|
|KF||United States Law|
|LA||History of Education|
|LB||Theory and Practice of Education|
|LC||Education of Exceptional Individuals|
|N FINE ARTS|
|P LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE|
|P||Philosophy & Linguistics (includes mass media communication, composition, & rhetoric)|
|PA||Classical Languages and Literature|
|PB||Celtic Languages and Literatures|
|PC||Romance Languages (Italian, French, Catalan, Spanish & Portuguese)|
|PD||Germanic Languages (Old Germanic, Norwegian, Icelandic, Danish & Swedish)|
|PF||West Germanic Languages (Dutch, Flemish, Friesian & German)|
|PG||Slavic (includes Russian), Baltic & Albanian Languages and Literature|
|PJ-PM||Oriental Languages & Literatures (includes Egyptian, Coptic, Hebrew, Arabic, Japanese, Chinese, & American Indian)|
|PN||Literary History & Collections (includes prose, poetry, drama, speech, debate & journalism)|
|PT||Germanic Literatures (includes German, Dutch, Flemish, Afrikaans & Scandinavian)|
|QA||Mathematics (includes computer science)|
|QC||Physics (includes light, spectroscopy, meteorology & climatology)|
|QH||Natural History & General Biology|
|R||General Medicine (includes Biomedical Engineering at R856-857)|
|RA||Aspects of Medicine (includes public health & toxicology)|
|RC||Practice of Medicine (includes speech & language disorders, psychiatry & geriatrics)|
|RF||Ear (includes audiology), Nose & Throat|
|RJ||Pediatrics (includes autistic, hyperactive & learning and behaviorally disordered children)|
|TJ||Mechanical Engineering & Machinery|
|TK||Electrical Engineering, Electronics, & Nuclear Engineering|
|TL||Motor Vehicles, Aeronautics & Astronautics|
|TP||Chemical Technology (includes biotechnology)|
|TS||Manufacturers (includes production, industries & products)|
|U MILITARY SCIENCE|
|V NAVAL SCIENCE|
Z BIBLIOGRAPHY (All subjects). LIBRARY SCIENCE
2. Check out the Table of Contents:
You may need to open up the links to full text (see double arrow below). Then select the PDF Full Text (to view the eBook without downloading it):
Use the tools to save, email or print pages.
Click the forward or backward arrows to move around.
EBSCO ebooks help:
1. Searching for ebooks and viewing them online (4 minute video).
2. Downloading ebooks for viewing offline on a device (4 minute video).
3. Ebooks on your ipad (2 minute video).
4. Complete help menu for EBSCO ebooks.
5. Troubleshooting tutorials & FAQs for EBSCO ebooks.
Additional links for downloading EBSCO eBooks:
1. You will need to download (and install) free Adobe Digital Editions.
2. Create a folder account on MyEBSCOhost (5 minute video).
The library is now closed. If you have any loans, just hang on to them until further notice. For the time being, no library fines will be charged for items that are overdue. Our library system may have sent you an auto-generated overdue notice, but you can safely ignore it.
If you have any questions, email us at firstname.lastname@example.org.
For help with searching the databases, check the tabs across the top of the Databases page.
Go to the Research Guides for help finding resources related to specific course essay topics.
For help with Ebooks, see the "Ebooks help" Tab (below).
Go to Off Campus Access for more information about remote access to our e-resources.
Interlibrary loan services are restricted to electronic resources.
If you have questions about loans, returns, or renewals, email email@example.com.
For Research Assistance, email a librarian:
Tell us your topic and we'll send you some e-resources and/or search tips.
Peter Turkstra Library, Redeemer University , 777 Garner Road East, Ancaster, ON, L9K 1J4, Canada Circulation Desk Telephone: 905.648.2139 ext. 4266, Email: firstname.lastname@example.org