The Oxford Handbook of Postcolonial Studies provides a comprehensive overview of the latest scholarship in postcolonial studies, while also considering possible future developments in the field. Original chapters written by a worldwide team of contritbuors are organised into five cross-referenced sections, "The Imperial Past," "The Colonial Present," "Theory and Practice," "Across the Disciplines," and "Across the World." The chapters offer both country-specific and comparative approaches to current issues.
Religion, Postcolonialism and Globalization: A Sourcebook shows how the roots of our globalized world run deeper than the 1980s or even the end of WWII, tracing back to 15th century European colonial expansion through which the 'modern world system' came into existence. The Sourcebook is divided into six parts, each with a critical introduction by the editor, a series of readings, and discussion questions based on the readings.
This hugely popular A-Z guide provides a comprehensive overview of the issues which characterize post-colonialism: explaining what it is, where it is encountered and the crucial part it plays in debates about race, gender, politics, language and identity. For this third edition over thirty new entries have been added. Post-Colonial Studies: This book remains an essential guide for anyone studying this vibrant field.
Unhomely States is the first collection of foundational essays of Canadian postcolonial theory. The essays span the period from 1965 to the present day and approach broad issues of Canadian culture and society. They represent the impassioned conflicts, dissonances, and intersections among postcolonial theorists in English Canada. Together, the essays in this collection demonstrate both the historical development of postcolonial debate in Canada and its most prominent current perspectives.
This lively and innovative account of both the history and key debates of postcolonialism discusses its importance as an historical condition, and as a means of changing the way we think about the world. Key concepts and issues are considered, with reference to particular cultural and historical examples, such as the status of aboriginal people, cultural nomadism, Western feminism, the innovative fiction of Garcia Marquez and Salman Rushdie, and the postcolonial cities of London, Bombay and Cairo.
This glossary offers an interdisciplinary guide to the various concepts, practices and cultural products that have come to be known as 'postcolonial'. In addition to providing an essential orientation map for undergraduates taking courses in postcolonial literature and theory and postcolonial studies more generally, its range makes it a indispensable reference tool for those who have been working in the field for some time.
Postcolonialism Cross-Examined reflects on the current status of postcolonial studies and attempts to break through traditional boundaries. The contributors in this volume question many of the concepts and assumptions we have become accustomed to in postcolonial studies, creating a fresh new version of the field.
Published twenty years ago, Leela Gandhi's Postcolonial Theory was a landmark description of the field of postcolonial studies in theoretical terms that set its intellectual context alongside poststructuralism, postmodernism, Marxism, and feminism. The revised edition of this classic work reaffirms its status as a useful starting point for readers new to the field and as a provocative account that opens up possibilities for debate. It includes substantial additions.
This anthology brings together the most diverse and recent voices in postcolonial theory to emerge since 9/11, alongside classic texts in established areas of postcolonial studies. The authors bring fresh insight and renewed political energy to established domains such as nation, history, literature, and gender. The essays engage with contemporary concerns such as globalization, digital cultures, neo-colonialism, and language debates.
This dictionary features a thoughtfully collated collection of over 150 jargon-free definitions of key terms and concepts in postcolonial theory. The book features a brief introduction to postcolonial theory and a list of suggested further reading that includes the texts in which many of these terms originated. Each entry includes the origins of the term, where traceable; a detailed explanation of its perceived meaning; and examples of the term's use in literary-cultural texts.
Bringing together contributions from various disciplines and academic fields, this collection engages in interdisciplinary dialogue on postcolonial issues. Covering African, anglophone, Romance, and New-World themes, linguistic, literary, and cultural studies, and historiography, music, art history, and textile studies, the volume raises questions of (inter)disciplinarity, methodology, and entangled histories.
Literature for Our Times offers the widest range of essays on present and future directions in postcolonial studies ever gathered together in one volume. Demonstrating the capacity of different approaches and methodologies to 'live together' in a spirit of 'convivial democracy', these essays range widely across regions, genres, and themes.
"Diagnosing Postcolonial Literature explores how Deleuze's notion that literature is an enterprise of health and that great authors are consequently diagnosticians of their culture can be applied to postcolonial literature. This genuinely interdisciplinary work breaks new ground both for the study of postcolonial literature and applications of Deleuze and Guattari"-- Provided by publisher.