Guides: BUS 363: International Business: Other Resources

Other Open Access Resources

Demographic Yearbook (United Nations), 1948 to the present
- Contains demographic data (population by age, by sex, etc.) for more than 160 countries. Location of Print: MILLS Government Publications (2nd floor) UN2 S30-D29 (1948 to the present
Population and Vital Statistics Report (United Nations), 2006 to the present
- Presents most recent data on population size (total, male and female) from the latest available census of the population, national official population estimates and the number and rate (births, deaths and infant deaths) for the latest available year within the past 15 years.
PRB International Data (Population Reference Bureau)
- Contains data on 133 population, health, and environment variables for more than 220 countries, 28 world regions and sub-regions, and the world as a whole. The country drop-down menu provide demographic profiles and links to policy briefs, data sheets and more.
Country Information (U.S. Department of State, Bureau of Consular Affairs)
- Includes information on safety, security, crime, medical facilities, travel warnings and more for countries worldwide.
Corruption Perceptions Index (CPI) (Transparency International), 1995 to the present, some CPI reports also available for download
- Scores 180 countries and territories by their perceived levels of public sector corruption, according to experts and business people.
GlobaLex (Hauser Global Law School, NYU)
- Resources are divided into several categories. The International Law Research section includes guides on over 20 topics (e.g., international terrorism, international trade, etc.) and the Foreign Law Research section contains entries on over 100 countries.
Human Rights Watch
- Provides human rights reports by region, country and theme.
ILOSTAT (International Labour Organization)
- Provides labour related statistics (e.g., unemployment, hours of work, wages, etc.) for over 200 countries around the world.
International Financial Statistics (IFS) (International Monetary Fund)
- Includes time series data for GDP growth, inflation, unemployment, payments balances, exports, imports, external debt, capital flows, commodity prices. Covers more than 200 countries and areas.
International Trade Center (ITC) - Regions & Countries
- Select a country from the list to view trade and market profiles. Profiles can include a trade performance index, export performance, import profile, trade simulation, and trade statistics (imports and exports by product group).
International Trade and Investment (Government of Canada)
- Provides export information by the Canadian federal government. Includes foreign market data, laws & legislation, and more.
Trade Policy Reviews (World Trade Organization)
- The World Trade Organization (WTO) produces periodic trade policy reviews for member countries. Reviews include an analysis of a country's role in world trade, its economic environment and trade policies. The WTO web site contains summaries of these reviews as well international trade statistics.
Trade and Tariff Data (World Trade Organization)
- Provides quantitative information in relation to economic and trade policy issues. Its databases and publications provide access to data on trade flows, tariffs, non-tariff measures (NTMs) and trade in value added.
UN Comtrade Database (United Nations Commodity Trade Statistics Database)
- A repository of official international trade statistics and relevant analytical tables. Includes import and export statistics from 1962 to the present for approximately 200 countries or areas.
World Tariff Profiles (WTO, ITC and UNCTAD), 2006 to current
- Lists tariffs imposed by each WTO member on its imports and provides an analysis of the market access conditions it faces in its major export markets. Includes summary tables and country-by-country breakdowns.
WTO Data - Information on Trade and Trade policy Measures (World Trade Organization)
- Provides access a wide range of WTO statistical indicators on international trade, tariffs, non-tariff measures and other indicators.