Guides: BUS 452: Sales Management: Target Market Information

1. Canada Commons

Through Canada Commons we have access to thousands of Canada-specific documents and resources. Try searching for terms such as "Market Reports" or "consumer*." You can even search for communities by name such as "Ancaster," "Hamilton," or "Brantford."

2. Advertising & Mass Media

Spotzi
Spotzi is a Netherlands-based company (with an office in Toronto) that provides marketing data for companies. Their primary product is for-purchase but "sample" searches can be conducted from their homepage.
Fact Books (Magazines Canada website)
Provides links to the most recent Consumer Magazine, Digital Magazine, and Business Media fact books. The Consumer Magazine fact book has data on Canadian industry trends, magazine readership and circulation, ad positioning, and ad effectiveness. The Digital Magazine fact book looks at magazine trends and research from tablets, e-readers, social media and smartphones.
ComScore Insights
Access insights from ComScore, a digital analytics firm, via their blog posts, presentations and whitepapers on global trends in mobile and digital media.

3. Government/Public Sources

Statistics Canada: Census Profiles
Search for demographic data for large and small communities. Topics included: Population & dwelling counts, Age, Marital status, Family characteristics, Households, and Language.
U.S. Consumer Expediture Survey (Bureau of Labor Statistics)
Data on the buying habits of American consumers gathered on behalf of the Bureau of Labor Statistics by the U.S. Census Bureau. It also includes data on consumer incomes and other characteristics. Updated annually.

Census Geography (Stats Canada)
"Census geography covers a wide range of geographic areas – from provinces and territories down to city blocks. These geographic areas have boundaries, names, and other information that make it possible to locate them on the ground and relate census data to them."

National Household Survey (NHS)
Search by topic: e.g., Aboriginal peoples, Immigration & Ethnocultural diversity, Education & Labour, Mobility & Migration, Income & Housing.

Survey of household spending, dwelling characteristics and household equipment
Household Spending Summary Tables
Canada Year Book
Data compiled from Statistics Canada sources. Articles provide analysis and graphics.
Stats Canada Publications
Find Stats Can surveys and research papers by title, subject and catalogue number.
Canada Post: Householder counts and maps
"Canada Post's Householder Counts and Maps help Direct Marketers to target their audiences by providing information on the counts of houses, apartments, farms and businesses throughout Canada, along with associated Forward Sortation Area (FSA) and Letter Carrier Walk (LCW) maps."

4. Other Sources

The ARDA
The Association of Religion Data Archives (ARDA) strives to democratize access to the best data on religion. The targeted audience and the data collection have both greatly expanded since 1998, now including American and international collections and developing features for educators, journalists, religious congregations, and researchers.
Direction of Trade Statistics (IMF)
Coverage from 1947 to the present. From the IMF.
Eurostat
Eurostat is the statistical office of the European Union
globalEDGE Tools and Data
Access to information and stats worldwide. From Michigan State University.
IMF Country Information
Information on countries worldwide from the IMF.
IMF Data (International Monetary Fund)
Worldwide data from the IMF
Inflation Rate/ Consumer Prices (CIA World Factbook)
Inflation rate (consumer prices) compares the annual percent change in consumer prices with the previous year's consumer prices.
International Labour Organization: Statistics and Databases
Labour statistics from the ILO.
MIDAS: Market Information Data Analytics System (SEC)
From the SEC, this contains very rich and complete intra-day financial market (averaged by the stock-day) statistics for thousands of securities. It also describes the methodology behind every variable.

more... less...

SEC MIDAS (Market Information Data and Analytics System) contains Individual Security Metrics published by SEC MIDAS. It provides market trading metrics for over 8,000 securities (stocks and exchange-traded portfolios).

SEC MIDAS also contains proxies for daily Algorithm Trading (AT) and High Frequency Trading (HFT) activities. For example:
- Cancel-to-Trade ratio,
- Trade-to-Order ratio,
- Odd Lot Ratio.

Other daily trading summaries include:
- Total Trade Volume,
- Hidden Order Volume,
- Trades and Trading Volume against Hidden Orders,
- Hidden Rate, etc.
OECD: Data
From the Organisation for Economic Co-operation and Development.
UN - Food and Agriculture Organization
Key resources include "FAOStat" and "SDG Indicators." Scroll down for these and more resources
UN Data
Data and statistics from the UN
UNESCO Institute for Statistics
Education, science, culture, communication, technology stats
UNICEF Data
World Bank Data
Open data from the World Bank