Do a preliminary search on your topic, e.g., "Christian perspectives on movies":
View the Descriptions of relevant books and notice the Subjects field:
Then try an Advanced Search using keywords from the above Subject headings:
AND finds all terms
OR finds either term
religio* (* truncation symbol) finds any ending, e.g., religion, religious, religiosity
The library is arranged by subject, using the Library of Congress call number system -- which is used by most academic libraries. Scroll down for an outline of the subject arrangement. More details can be found here.
The letters at the top are arranged alphabetically.
Books having the same letter(s) on the top line are distinguished by the numbers that follow, shelved numerically.
If those lines are the same, the books are distinguished by the letters that follow, which are shelved alphabetically.
If those lines are identical, the next numbers are arranged decimally (not numerically).
|
QM 23 .E6543 |
QM 23 .E778 |
QM 23 .E88 |
QM 23 .E9 |
QM 23 .E99 |
QM 23 .E995 |
QM 23 .E999 |
| A GENERAL WORKS | ||
| AE | Encyclopedias | |
| AY | Almanacs | |
| B PHILOSOPHY. PSYCHOLOGY. RELIGION | ||
| B-BD | Philosophy | |
| BF | Psychology | |
| BH-BJ | Aesthetics & Ethics | |
| BL-BX | Religion | |
| C AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY | ||
| CB | History of Civilization | |
| CC | Archaeology | |
| CT | General Biography | |
| D HISTORY: GENERAL AND OLD WORLD | ||
| D | World History | |
| DA-DR | European History | |
| DJK-DK | Eastern Europe, Russia & Poland | |
| DS | Asia | |
| DT | Africa | |
| DU | Australia, New Zealand | |
| E-F HISTORY: AMERICA | ||
| E 11-143 | America | |
| E 151- | United States History (includes African-American Studies at E 185) | |
| F 1-975 | United States Local History (includes St. Louis at F 474 & Missouri at F 466) | |
| F 1001- | Other Countries (includes Canada, & countries of Central & South America) | |
| G GEOGRAPHY. ANTHROPOLOGY. RECREATION | ||
| G-GB | Geography | |
| GE | Environmental Sciences | |
| GF | Human Ecology | |
| GN | Anthropology | |
| GT | Manners & Customs | |
| GV | Recreation & Leisure | |
| H SOCIAL SCIENCES | ||
| HA | Statistics | |
| HB-HD | Economics | |
| HE | Transportation & Communication (includes radio & television broadcasting) | |
| HF | Commerce (includes business administration, accounting, advertising & marketing) | |
| HG | Finance | |
| HJ | Public Finance | |
| HM-HS | Sociology | |
| HM | General Sociology (includes mass media communication, public opinion, & public relations) | |
| HQ | Family, Marriage, & Women | |
| HT | Communities, Classes, & Races | |
| HV | Social Pathology, Social & Public Welfare, & Criminology | |
| HX | Socialism, Communism, & Anarchism | |
| J POLITICAL SCIENCE | ||
| JF | Constitutional History & Government Administration | |
| JK | United States | |
| JS | Local Governments (municipal, etc.) | |
| JX | International Law & International Relations | |
| K LAW | ||
| KF | United States Law | |
| L EDUCATION | ||
| LA | History of Education | |
| LB | Theory and Practice of Education | |
| LC | Education of Exceptional Individuals | |
| M MUSIC |
| N FINE ARTS |
| P LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE | ||
| P | Philosophy & Linguistics (includes mass media communication, composition, & rhetoric) | |
| PA | Classical Languages and Literature | |
| PB | Celtic Languages and Literatures | |
| PC | Romance Languages (Italian, French, Catalan, Spanish & Portuguese) | |
| PD | Germanic Languages (Old Germanic, Norwegian, Icelandic, Danish & Swedish) | |
| PE | English Language | |
| PF | West Germanic Languages (Dutch, Flemish, Friesian & German) | |
| PG | Slavic (includes Russian), Baltic & Albanian Languages and Literature | |
| PJ-PM | Oriental Languages & Literatures (includes Egyptian, Coptic, Hebrew, Arabic, Japanese, Chinese, & American Indian) | |
| PN | Literary History & Collections (includes prose, poetry, drama, speech, debate & journalism) | |
| PQ | Romance Literatures | |
| PR | English Literature | |
| PS | American Literature | |
| PT | Germanic Literatures (includes German, Dutch, Flemish, Afrikaans & Scandinavian) | |
| PZ | Children's Literature | |
| Q SCIENCE | ||
| Q | General Science | |
| QA | Mathematics (includes computer science) | |
| QB | Astronomy | |
| QC | Physics (includes light, spectroscopy, meteorology & climatology) | |
| QD | Chemistry | |
| QE | Geology | |
| QH | Natural History & General Biology | |
| QK | Botany | |
| QL | Zoology | |
| QM | Human Anatomy | |
| QP | Physiology | |
| QR | Microbiology | |
| R MEDICINE | ||
| R | General Medicine (includes Biomedical Engineering at R856-857) | |
| RA | Aspects of Medicine (includes public health & toxicology) | |
| RC | Practice of Medicine (includes speech & language disorders, psychiatry & geriatrics) | |
| RF | Ear (includes audiology), Nose & Throat | |
| RJ | Pediatrics (includes autistic, hyperactive & learning and behaviorally disordered children) | |
| S AGRICULTURE |
| T TECHNOLOGY | ||
| T | GeneralTechnology | |
| TA | General Engineering | |
| TD | Environmental Technology | |
| TJ | Mechanical Engineering & Machinery | |
| TK | Electrical Engineering, Electronics, & Nuclear Engineering | |
| TL | Motor Vehicles, Aeronautics & Astronautics | |
| TP | Chemical Technology (includes biotechnology) | |
| TR | Photography | |
| TS | Manufacturers (includes production, industries & products) | |
| U MILITARY SCIENCE |
| V NAVAL SCIENCE |
Z BIBLIOGRAPHY (All subjects). LIBRARY SCIENCE
Peter Turkstra Library, Redeemer University , 777 Garner Road East, Ancaster, ON, L9K 1J4, Canada Circulation Desk Telephone: 905.648.2139 ext. 4266, Email: library@redeemer.ca