On the library's Databases page, go to EBSCOhost services and then select EBSCOhost Web. Then choose your database(s). Try the following search and refine your results. For example, you could limit your results to recently published (in the past 5 years), full text articles in peer reviewed journals.
On the library website, go to the Databases page and select JSTOR. Select the Advanced Search. You can filter (narrow) your results by item type (e.g. Articles), Date of publication, and Language. You can also narrow by subject discipline of the journals, e.g. Language & Literature.
Business Professionalism: a blueprint to help you analyze, equip, plan, and succeed in the workplace We all look at the appearances and behaviors of business people and say "I wish that person were more professional." What does that mean? The reader will find a business professional framework for self-reflection and growth. We all engage in work and personal ventures that result in measurable outcomes and goal oriented behavior. How do we evaluate those activities in terms of effectiveness and efficiency - efficacy? And, in what context? This book provides a systematic framework for a personal development process that gives for-profit and not-for-profit business professionals at any level a blueprint for success in the dynamic business climate of the early 21st century. That process includes assessment and continual life growth and improvement. It focuses both on what is (reality) and what could be (theory/ideals). It is intended to fill a toolbox full of materials with resources that can formally and informally be used in business professional development. Business professionalism builds from the ground up. It depends on a dialogue between stakeholders. After you've learned the Four Pillars, how can you share them with your colleagues? This book will give you some talking points to start the conversation that could change your organization.
Codes of Conduct Despite ongoing efforts to maintain ethical standards, highly publicized episodes of corporate misconduct occur with disturbing frequency. Firms produce defective products, release toxic substances into the environment, or permit dangerous conditions to existin their workplaces. The propensity for irresponsible acts is not confined to rogue companies, but crops up in even the most respectable firms. Codes of Conduct is the first comprehensive attempt to understand these problems by applying the principles of modern behavioral science to the study of organizational behavior. Codes of Conduct probes the psychological and social processes through which companies and their managers respond to a wide array of ethical dilemmas, from risk and safety management to the treatment of employees. The contributors employ a wide range of case studies to illustrate the effects of social influence and group persuasion, organizational authority and communication, fragmented responsibility, and the process of rationalization. John Darley investigates how unethical acts are unintentionally assembled within organizations as a result of cascading pressures and social processes. Essays by Roderick Kramer and David Messick and by George Loewenstein focus on irrational decision making among managers. Willem Wagenaar examines how worker safety is endangered by management decisions that focus too narrowly on cost cutting and short time horizons. Essays by Baruch Fischhoff and by Robyn Dawes review the role of the expert in assessing environmental risk. Robert Bies reviews evidence that employees are more willing to provide personal information and to accept affirmative action programs if they are consulted on the intended procedures and goals. Stephanie Goodwin and Susan Fiske discuss how employees can be educated to base office judgments on personal qualities rather than on generalizations of gender, race, and ethnicity. Codes of Conduct makes an important scientific contribution to the understanding of decisionmaking and social processes in business, and offers clear insights into the design of effective policies to improve ethical conduct.
Global Codes of Conduct : an idea whose time has come The collected reflections of leaders in business, academy and other parts of society ask questions to consider in the rush towards globalization: What is the next step in the globalization process? Should we aim for one global code of conduct? What accountability structures are helpful?
Honorable in Business: business ethics from a Christian perspective by How can one be a Christian in the world of business, not just on the weekend? How can one be honorable in business? Through the integration of the Christian worldview and business ethics, this book provides Christians with a mental framework with which to answer these important questions.Beginning with Genesis as the foundation for the Christian's worldview and the Ten Commandments as the outline for the Christian's ethical obligations, the authors develop principles upon which ethical choices can be made, even when working in a primarily non-Christian-oriented business environment. The book is designed to be helpful both to those beginning their career in business and those already employed in business who struggle with how to engage in today's business environment while maintaining their commitment to God's vision for life to be both meaningful and honorable. Topics of business ethics such as employee rights, discrimination, technology and privacy, insider trading and accounting fraud, and the special challenges of working internationally are covered. The added value this book brings to these discussions lies in its serious consideration of the Christian worldview as foundational to ethical decision-making in everyday areas of business.
Just Business: Christian ethics for the marketplace by When the daily business news breaks away from stories of profit and loss, it often shines a spotlight on ethical failures. But Christians aim to be ethical in all the areas of daily life and work--not just when the spotlight is on them. For those facing the many questions and quandaries of doing business with ethical integrity, Alec Hill offers a place to begin.In this third edition of a popular textbook on business ethics, Hill carefully explores the foundational Christian concepts of holiness, justice, and love. These keys to God's character, he argues, are also the keys to Christian business ethics. Hill then shows how some common responses to business ethics fall short of a fully Christian response. Using penetrating case studies on such pressing topics as employer-employee relations, discrimination and affirmative action, and environmental damage, he clothes principles in concrete business situations. Updated throughout, and with a new chapter on international business, this new edition of Just Business is an excellent introduction to business ethics for students, and a timely refresher for men and women already in the marketplace.A Manager's Guide for Ethical Decision Making Provides guidelines for ethical decision making in business that are philosophically sound and strategically advantageous. This title explains the concepts of basic and derivative rights in a way that can enable managers to identify those ethical duties that must be met in order to morally justify the pursuit of profit.The Oxford Handbook of Business Ethics Business ethics raises many important philosophical issues. A first set of issues concerns the methodology of business ethics. What is the role of ethical theory in business ethics? To what extent, if at all, can thinking in business ethics be enhanced by philosophy, so as to provide realmoral guidance? Another set of issues involves questions regarding markets, capitalism, and economic justice. There are related concerns about the nature of business organizations and the responsibilities they have to their members, owners, and society. The Oxford Handbook of Business Ethics is a comprehensive treatment of the field of business ethics as seen from a philosophical approach. The volume consists of 24 essays that survey the field of business ethics in a broad and accessible manner, covering all major topics about the relationshipbetween ethical theory and business ethics. The chapters are written by accomplished philosophers who offer a systematic interpretation of their topics and discuss various moral controversies and dilemmas that plague business relationships and government-business relationships. Readers are thuspresented with the major views that define the topic of the essay with critical discussions of those views, as well as topical bibliographies that identify key works in the field. In addition to philosophers who work in this area, the volume will be of interest to those in business and societyseeking an up-to-date resource on this vital field.The power of AND: Responsible business without trade-offs by The idea that business is only about the money doesn't hold true in the twenty-first century, when companies around the world are giving up traditional distinctions in order to succeed. Yet our expectations for businesses remain under the sway of a worldview that emphasizes profits for shareholders above all else. The Power of And offers a new narrative about the nature of business, revealing the focus on responsibility and ethics that unites today's most influential ideas and companies. R. Edward Freeman, Kirsten E. Martin, and Bidhan L. Parmar detail an emerging business model built on five key concepts: prioritizing purpose as well as profits; creating value for stakeholders as well as shareholders; seeing business as embedded in society as well as markets; recognizing people's full humanity as well as their economic interests; and integrating business and ethics into a more holistic model. Drawing on examples across companies, industries, and countries, they show that these values support persevering in hard times and prospering over the long term. Real-world success stories disprove the conventional wisdom that there are unavoidable trade-offs between acting ethically and succeeding financially. The Power of And presents a conceptual revolution about what it means for business to be responsible, providing a new story for us to tell in order to help all kinds of companies thrive.
Research on Professional Responsibility and Ethics in Accounting by Research on Professional Responsibility and Ethics in Accountingis devoted to publishing high-quality research and cases that focus on the professional responsibilities of accountants and how they deal with the ethical issues they face. The series features articles on a broad range of important and timely topics, including professionalism, social responsibility, corporate responsibility, ethical judgments, and accountability. The professional responsibilities of accountants are broad-based; they must serve clients and user groups whose needs, incentives, and goals may be in conflict. Further, accountants must interpret and apply codes of conduct, accounting and auditing principles, and securities regulations. Compliance with professional guidelines is judgment-based, and characteristics of the individual, the culture, and situation affect how these guidelines are interpreted and applied, as well as when they might be violated. Interactions between accountants, regulators, standard setters, and industries also have ethical components. Research into the nature of these interactions, resulting dilemmas, and how and why accountants resolve them is the focus of this journal.
Responsibility at Work : how leading professionals act (or don't act) responsibly Filled with original essays by Howard Gardner, William Damon, Mihaly Csikszenthmihalyi, and Jeanne Nakamura and based on a large-scale research project, the GoodWork® Project, Responsibility at Work reflects the information gleaned from in-depth interviews with more than 1,200 people from nine different professions-journalism, genetics, theatre, higher education, philanthropy, law, medicine, business, and pre-collegiate education. The book reveals how motivation, culture, and professional norms can intersect to produce work that is personally, socially, and economically beneficial. At the heart of the study is the revelation that the key to good work is responsilibilty-taking ownership for one's work and its wider impact.The SAGE Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society by Thoroughly revised, updated, and expanded, The SAGE Encyclopedia of Business Ethics and Society, Second Edition explores current topics, such as mass social media, cookies, and cyber-attacks, as well as traditional issues including accounting, discrimination, environmental concerns, and management. The new edition also includes an in-depth examination of current and recent ethical affairs, such as the dangerous work environments of off-shore factories for Western retailers, the negligence resulting in the 2010 BP oil spill, Apple's exploitation of outdated tax code, the gender wage gap, the minimum wage debate and increasing income disparity and the unparalleled level of debt in the U.S. and other countries with the challenges it presents to many societies and the considerable impact on the ethics of intergenerational wealth transfers.Key features include: seven volumes, with more than 1,200 signed entries by significant figures in the field cross-references and suggestions for further readings to guide students to in-depth resources Thematic Reader's Guide groups related entries by general topics Index allows for thorough browse-and-search capabilities in the electronic edition.Shapeholders: Business success in the age of activism by Many companies fail to anticipate activism, and they flounder on first contact. Mark R. Kennedy examines the different languages that shapeholders and companies speak and their contrasting metrics for what constitutes acceptable business practice. Executives, he argues, must be visionaries who find collaborations to diffuse tensions.Peter Turkstra Library, Redeemer University , 777 Garner Road East, Ancaster, ON, L9K 1J4, Canada Circulation Desk Telephone: 905.648.2139 ext. 4266, Email: library@redeemer.ca
