This essential new textbook meets the challenges faced by those who work with children in order to provide safe and effective practice. It identifies the ways in which social work and psychology need to work together to achieve this. Misca and Unwin reflect on the need for 'research mindedness' in social work education, and offer an invaluable critical analysis of current knowledge of child and adolescent psychology theory and research to help inform best social work practice.
A highly accessible resource for students and professionals as well as parents, Building the Bonds of Attachment presents a composite case study of one child's developmental course following years of abuse and neglect. Weaving theory and research into a powerful narrative, Hughes offers effective methods for facilitating attachment in children who have experienced serious trauma. The text emphasizes both the specialized psychotherapy and parenting strategies often necessary in facilitating a child's psychological development and attachment security.
In The Road to Evergreen, Rachael Stryker provides an in-depth exploration of the theory, implementation, and culture of attachment therapy as it is practiced in Evergreen, Colorado, the center of RAD treatment in the United States. To understand RAD and the Evergreen model, Stryker conducted interviews with client families at an attachment clinic in Evergreen, other American adoptive families, participants in the Denver foster care system, and personnel at international adoption agencies and orphanages.
This clear and compelling textbook provides a complete survey of the field of child abuse and neglect from the perspective of modern developmental attachment theory. It starts by describing the ways in which attachment difficulties manifest themselves in children's behaviour, and goes on looking at abuse, neglect, and compound cases of abuse and neglect, backing it all up with empirical research evidence and vivid case material. In its final section, it provides a comprehensive review of attachment-based interventions.
From foremost authorities, this comprehensive work is more than just the standard reference on attachment-it has “become indispensable” in the field. Coverage includes the origins and development of attachment theory; biological and evolutionary perspectives; and the role of attachment processes in personality, relationships, and mental health across the lifespan.
The star treatment model : an integrative model for assessing and treating childhood dissociation -- What's going on with this child? Recognizing warning signs of dissociation in traumatized children and adolescents -- Deciphering what is dissociation : differential diagnoses -- Uncovering the child's fractured self : assessing for dissociation -- Mindful approach to phase oriented treatment -- "I guess they're going to keep me. I tried everything" : building attachment and partnering with the family -- "My invisible team" : identifying and stabilizing self-states -- Calming the stress response system and managing triggers
Infant and Early Childhood Mental Health: Core Concepts and Clinical Practice is a groundbreaking book that provides an overview of the field from both theoretical and clinical viewpoints. The editors and chapter authors describe from their diverse perspectives key concepts fundamental to infant-parent and early childhood mental health work. The complexity of this emerging field demands an interdisciplinary approach, and the book provides a clear, comprehensive text.
Through a novel integration of child welfare data, policy analysis, and evidence-informed youth permanency practice, the essays in this volume show how to achieve and sustain family permanence for older children and youth in foster care. Researchers examine what is known about permanency outcomes for youth in foster care, how the existing knowledge base can be applied to improve these outcomes, and the directions that future research should take to strengthen youth permanence practice and policy.
The Child and Youth Security Sourcebook provides important information for students, parents, and educators about protecting children and youth from substance abuse, crime and violence in school and in the community, juvenile delinquency, gangs, school and campus unrest, and peer conflict. This Sourcebook also presents information regarding offenses and dangers in the home, including abuse and neglect, child care maltreatment, and child witnesses of sexual and violent crimes. Special sections include statistics, recovery programs for young victims of violence, a glossary of related terms, and resources for further information.