Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library HoursLibrary SearchOff-campus AccessRenew LoansRedeemer AppRedeemer UniversityCollege

Biblical & Theological Studies: Articles

Start with these Databases

Search Tips

Go to  EBSCO Services on the library Databases page and try the following search. Then select EBSCOhost Web and then ATLA Religion Database.

Then select Scriptures from the top menu bar and follow the links to select the Biblical passage you are researching. This will result in a Scripture Reference (SR) search. You can also do a Scripture Citation (SC) search as shown in the second box below. Enclose your citation in quotation marks in order to search for it as a phrase.

Searching for Resources

In our library catalogue, type your topic, e.g.

Select a relevant book in your results list, and then look in the Description for accurate subject headings (under Subjects).  Once you know the subject headings for your topic, do a subject (su:) search. Use the filters on the left side of the catalogue screen to limit your results to e-books, print books, publication year, etc.

You could also try an Advanced Search:

  • AND finds results with BOTH terms 
  • OR finds results with EITHER term
  • mission*  finds any ending, e.g. missions, missionaries
  • Quotation marks will search for an exact phrase , e.g., "Indians of North America"   

For more help on searching, go to our library website.

From the library Databases page, go to EBSCOhost and then select EBSCOhost Web.  Then choose your database(s). and create a search similar to the example below. Finally, you may limit your results by using the filters on the left-hand side of the screen, e.g., recently published (in the past 5 years),  full text articles in peer reviewed journals. 

  • AND finds results with BOTH terms 
  • OR finds results with EITHER terrms
  • Canad*  finds any ending, e.g. Canada, Canadian

For more help with EBSCOhost databases, go to the library website and look under the Databases tab.

From the library Databases page, go to JSTOR, select Advanced Search and then and try a search like this. By placing quotation marks around a phrase, JSTOR will search this exact phrase only, bringing up more accurate results. You may also limit your results by item type, language and discipline.

For additional help with JSTOR, look under the Databases tab on the library website.

Search for the title of the book and filter your Source Types by Reviews:

Filter your results (Full Text, Reviews):

Peter Turkstra Library,  Redeemer University , 777 Garner Road East, Ancaster, ON, L9K 1J4, Canada
Circulation Desk Telephone: 905.648.2139 ext. 4266, Email:   library@redeemer.ca