Emma Lazarus in Her World by
The biography and selected letters of this literary great includes over 60 newly discovered letters written to many other literary giants of the time, including Robert Browning and William Morris.
Articulating Rights: Nineteenth-Century American Women on Race, Reform, and the State by
his volume presents a study of six notable reformers, illuminating the connections between the gradual transformation of reform strategies over the course of the 19th century and the political ideas of the reformers themselves. The author argues that American women's political thought evolved from an emphasis on reform through moral persuasion and local control into an endorsement of expanded federal power and a strong central state. This book reveals Fanny Wright, Sarah Grimké, Angelina Grimké Weld, Frances Watkins Harper, Frances Willard, and Mary Church Terrell to be political thinkers who were engaged in re-conceptualizing the relationship between the state and its citizens.
Competing Kingdoms: Women, Mission, Nation, and the American Protestant Empire, 1812-1960 by
This work rethinks the importance of women and religion within U.S. imperial culture from the early nineteenth century to the mid-twentieth. In an era when the United States was emerging as a world power to challenge the hegemony of European imperial powers, American women missionaries strove to create a new Kingdom of God. They did much to shape a Protestant empire based on American values and institutions. This book examines American women's activism in a broad transnational context. It offers a complex array of engagements with their efforts to provide rich intercultural histories about the global expansion of American culture and American Protestantism. An international and interdisciplinary group of scholars, the contributors bring under-utilized evidence from U.S. and non-U.S. sources to bear on the study of American women missionaries abroad and at home. Focusing on women from several denominations, they build on the insights of postcolonial scholarship to incorporate the agency of the people among whom missionaries lived. They explore how people in China, the Congo Free State, Egypt, India, Japan, Ndebeleland (colonial Rhodesia), Ottoman Bulgaria, and the Philippines perceived, experienced, and negotiated American cultural expansion. They also consider missionary work among people within the United States who were constructed as foreign, including African Americans, Native Americans, and Chinese immigrants. By presenting multiple cultural perspectives, this collection challenges simplistic notions about missionary cultural imperialism, revealing the complexity of American missionary attitudes toward race and the ways that ideas of domesticity were reworked and appropriated in various settings. It expands the field of U.S. women's history into the international arena, increases understanding of the global spread of American culture, and offers new concepts for analyzing the history of American empire.
Women's Rights Emerges Within the Anti-Slavery Movement, 1830-1870 by
Combining documents with an interpretive essay, this book is the first to offer a much-needed guide to the emergence of the women's rights movement within the anti-slavery activism of the 1830s. The introductory essay places a new focus on the relationship among campaigns against racial prejudice and the emergence of the women's rights movement, tracing the cause of women's rights from Angelina and Sarah Grimké's campaign against slavery and the emergence of race as a divisive issue that finally split that movement in 1869. A rich collection of nearly 60 documents--10 of them new--includes a range of voices, from free black women activists such as Francis Watkins Harper and Sarah Mapps Douglass, to Quaker abolitionists and their opponents. Document headnotes, maps and illustrations, a chronology, questions for consideration, a selected bibliography, and an index have been updated and enrich students' understanding of this period.
Lift up Thy Voice: The Grimké Family's Journey From Slaveholders to Civil Rights Leaders by
A history of the Grimke family describes members' initial involvement in the abolitionist movement, their active roles in the founding of the NAACP, and their success as performers during the Harlem Renaissance.
Encyclopedia of Women in the American West by
The Encyclopedia of women in the American West captures the lives of more than 150 women who made their mark from the mid-1800s to the present, contextualizing their experiences and contributions to American society. Including many women biographied for the first time, the Encyclopedia offers immense value and interest to practicing historians as well as students and the lay public. The West is often portrayed as a rough and tumble man's world, but behind these men--and often independently--were women with the dreams, strength, and determination to make a difference. The Encyclopedia of women in the American West is a tribute to their independence, intelligence, courage, spirit, perseverance, and daring.
Staging Family by
"Examing the careers and lives of more than fifty nineteenth-century American actresses, Staging Family explores the interplay of culture, labor, and family in the advancement of mid-1800s social and political change"-- Provided by publisher
Peter Turkstra Library, Redeemer University , 777 Garner Road East, Ancaster, ON, L9K 1J4, Canada Circulation Desk Telephone: 905.648.2139 ext. 4266, Email: library@redeemer.ca
