ENG 201 Expository Writing: General Library Research Information

Search Commands

• au: author, e.g. au: c.s. lewis
• ti: title, e.g. ti: romeo and juliet
• su: subject search for books entirely devoted to the topic
• kw: keyword search for books with a chapter on the topic
  • su: calvin AND kw: institutes
• lc: library call number, e.g. lc: DT*
• pb: publisher, e.g. pb: oxford press
• isbn: search with or without hyphens
• mt: main target audience, e.g. mt: juv [for juvenile/children's books]
• truncation *  e.g.:religio* [finds religion, religious, religiosity]
• AND finds both, e.g. religion AND teens
• OR finds either, e.g. teens OR youth
• Combine AND & OR, using parentheses
  •  (religio* OR faith) AND (teen* OR youth)
  •  (su: religio* OR faith) AND (su: youth OR teen*)
  • kw: calvin AND (jean OR john)
• Phrase searching: ti: "crime and punishment"
• NOT excludes, e.g. NOT (mt: juvenile OR su: fiction) [excludes children's books and fiction]

1. Select the Filters for eBooks at Redeemer. Then click "View eBook":

2. Check out the Table of Contents:

3. Click link to eBook full text

You may need to open up the links to full text (see double arrow below).  Then select the PDF Full Text (to view the eBook without downloading it):

4. Move around in the Ebook

Use the tools to save, email or print pages.

Click the forward or backward arrows to move around.

5. Print or Save pages (Some books have a Page Limit).

6. Use the Tools to get help with Citing (select Cite).

7. Find the Permalink (stable URL) by clicking the chain icon under Tools.

8. Export to a Citation Manager

Additional Help with eBooks on EBSCO:

EBSCO ebooks help:
1. Searching for ebooks and viewing them online (4 minute video).
2. Downloading ebooks for viewing offline on a device (4 minute video).
3. Troubleshooting tutorials & FAQs for EBSCO ebooks.

Additional links for downloading EBSCO eBooks:
1. You will need to download (and install) free Adobe Digital Editions.
2. Create a folder account on MyEBSCOhost (5 minute video).

About Canada Commons

Canada Commons includes an extensive collection of Canadian materials, including:

• 25,000 eBooks from scholarly and independent publishers
• 180,000 public policy papers from think tanks and government sources
• Over 200,000 titles available
• A 4,000 entry directory of Canadian research and government organizations

Accessing Canada Commons

Canada Commons provides more than one way to access their database. In addition to the the EZProxy/IP authentication method we use for all of our library databases, Redeemer staff, faculty and students  can create a free individual Canada Commons account that is linked to our institutional subscription through their Redeemer email address. This provides another way to login to Canada Commons when off campus.

Using Canada Commons

For an excellent introduction to and overview of Canada Commons, please see this video produced by Canada Commons.

Select 'EBSCO services' and then 'EBSCOhost Web'

Go to  EBSCOhost Web and then select one or more databases:

• Academic Search Ultimate
• APA PsycARTICLES
• APA PsycINFO
• ATLA Religion Database
• Business Source Elite
• eBooks (Academic Collection)
• Humanities International Complete
• MEDLINE with Full Text
• SocINDEX with Full Text
• SPORTDiscus with Full Text

Choose Database(s) relevant to your topic and Continue:

Advanced Search (adapt these search techniques to your own topic)

My topic is adolescent spirituality (for a psychology course) so I have chosen the PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES databases.  I  have grouped related terms in each search box, using the OR connector.

• The truncation symbol (*) finds results with any ending (e.g. religio* FINDS religion, religious, religiosity)
• AND finds results with BOTH terms (e.g. spirituality AND adolescent)
• OR finds results with EITHER term (e.g. adolescents OR teenagers OR youth)
• My search terms will be in the Subject Terms field so the articles will be ABOUT this

Refine your Results

Use the limiters to refine your search results:

Read the Abstracts & Add Records to your Folder

For more information about an article, select the title. In the full record display you will find the abstract (summary of the article).   Click the folder icon in order to add it to your folder. Once you've selected your records, you can save, print, or export an entire folder.

View your folder contents and select the articles and output options.

Select the title for Full Record Display & Help with Citing the Source

View the full record display in order to get help with citing this article (APA, MLA, Chicago style).

Citing Help: Select Cite and then scroll down to the style of your choice

On the Tools menu, select Permalink (Permanent URL):

1. Select Permalink in the bottom right.
2. A box with the permanent URL will appear at the top of the record.
3. Copy and paste it.

Sign in to MyEBSCO: Create a personalized account

1. Click Sign In near the top of your screen (or the hamburger menu on a mobile device).
2. Click "Create a new Account."
3. Follow the steps to create an account with a password of your own choice.
4. Once you have an account, you can save your search results into folders for future reference.
5. You can share your folders with others (e.g. for group work).

Creating Folders in MyEBSCO (for future reference or sharing with others)

1. Inside your own account in MyEBSCO, click the New Folder icon.
2. A window will open which asks you to provide a Folder Name, e.g. "Adolescent Spirituality"
3. Once you have created a new Folder, go back to My Folder.
4. Select the articles you'd like to move.
5. Click "Move To" and select your folder from the list that appears.

Exporting references to a Citation Manager

Open the Tools and select Export. Then select the citation manager of your choice, e.g. Zotero or RefWorks.

Select a Citation Manager

How to link Google Scholar with Redeemer Library:

1. Select Settings under the Collapse Menu Button.

2. Select Library links and type Redeemer University College into the search bar. Check the box beside Redeemer University College Library - Find it at Redeemer. Select save.

How to find articles on Google Scholar:

Try the following search. Notice the number of times an article was Cited by other authors.

Select the JSTOR database ("Journal Storage") and go to the Advanced Search. You can filter (narrow) your results by item type (e.g. Articles), Date of publication, and Language. You can also narrow by subject discipline of the journals, e.g. Language & Literature. 

Turnitin is a tool to prevent plagiarism. Your instructor will give you details about submitting your paper to his/her course assignment on Turnitin. It will then identify 'unoriginal content' by highlighting similarities in its bank of internet, academic and student paper content. If the Similarity Report has been made available by your instructor, you will see similar or matching text:

For more information, see the Student Quick Start Guide on the Turnitin website.

Paper and Digital Copying Guidelines

Redeemer's license with Access Copyright provides students, faculty and staff permission to copy more than what is permitted under the Canadian Copyright Act.

What may I copy?

You may copy portions of any published work in Access Copyright’s repertoire. Search for your title by using their Look-up tool. For example:

How can I create and distribute copies?

For published works in Access Copyright’s repertoire, you can:

• Photocopy, fax, scan, print or fax copies
• Store copies on a hard drive, USB stick or on a Secure Network (e.g. Discovery)
• Transmit by email, upload or post copies within a Secure Network (e.g. Discovery)
• Project and display copies, such as on overheads, on LCD or plasma monitors, or interactive whiteboards.
• Make copies for the purposes of interlibrary loan, creating alternate format copies and managing library collections
• Create Course Collections (e.g. course packs or Discovery links). Course collections are paper compilations of published works and digital copies of published works that are emailed, linked or hyperlinked, posted, uploaded to or stored on a Secure Network as part of a course of study.

How much may I copy?

You may copy up to 20% of a book or:

• An entire article from a magazine, journal or newspaper
• a complete chapter, short story, poem or an entire artistic work

There are no limits on the quantity of copies you can make. More information is available at http://www.accesscopyright.ca.

Can I request permission to copy beyond the limits?

You can request permission to copy from 20% to 25% of a covered title on a pay-per-use basis (12 cents per page) and permission can be requested through the lookup tool.

For help with citing your sources, contact a librarian.  Students and faculty are welcome to drop in with questions or set up in-depth research appointments with a librarian. 

The Research Assistance Desk is staffed by professional librarians during business (day-time) hours Monday to Friday.

Our librarians will gladly assist you, either at the Research Assistance desk or by phone or email.

Turnitin is a tool to prevent plagiarism. Your instructor will give you details about submitting your paper to his/her course assignment on Turnitin. It will then identify 'unoriginal content' by highlighting similarities in its bank of internet, academic and student paper content. If the Similarity Report has been made available by your instructor, you will see similar or matching text:

For more information, see the Student Quick Start Guide on the Turnitin website.

Paper and Digital Copying Guidelines

Redeemer's license with Access Copyright provides students, faculty and staff permission to copy more than what is permitted under the Canadian Copyright Act.

What may I copy?

You may copy portions of any published work in Access Copyright’s repertoire. Search for your title by using their Look-up tool. For example:

How can I create and distribute copies?

For published works in Access Copyright’s repertoire, you can:

• Photocopy, fax, scan, print or fax copies
• Store copies on a hard drive, USB stick or on a Secure Network (e.g. Discovery)
• Transmit by email, upload or post copies within a Secure Network (e.g. Discovery)
• Project and display copies, such as on overheads, on LCD or plasma monitors, or interactive whiteboards.
• Make copies for the purposes of interlibrary loan, creating alternate format copies and managing library collections
• Create Course Collections (e.g. course packs or Discovery links). Course collections are paper compilations of published works and digital copies of published works that are emailed, linked or hyperlinked, posted, uploaded to or stored on a Secure Network as part of a course of study.

How much may I copy?

You may copy up to 20% of a book or:

• An entire article from a magazine, journal or newspaper
• a complete chapter, short story, poem or an entire artistic work

There are no limits on the quantity of copies you can make. More information is available at http://www.accesscopyright.ca.

Can I request permission to copy beyond the limits?

You can request permission to copy from 20% to 25% of a covered title on a pay-per-use basis (12 cents per page) and permission can be requested through the lookup tool.

For help with citing your sources, contact a librarian.  Students and faculty are welcome to drop in with questions or set up in-depth research appointments with a librarian. 

The Research Assistance Desk is staffed by professional librarians during business (day-time) hours Monday to Friday.

Our librarians will gladly assist you, either at the Research Assistance desk or by phone or email.