Guides: ENG 201 Expository Writing: Reading Brain & Dyslexia

Overcoming Dyslexia: A New and Complete Science-based Program for Reading Problems at Any Level by Sally Shaywitz
Call Number: LB 1050.5 .S42 2005
Publication Date: 2005-01-04
The Connections Between Language and Reading Disabilities
Call Number: LB 1050.5 .C65 2005
Publication Date: 2004-12-27
Dyslexia : a practitioner's handbook by Gavin Reid
Call Number: LC 4708 .R45 2009
Publication Date: 2009-08-10
The Gift of Dyslexia: Why Some of the Smartest People Can't Read and How They Can Learn by Ronald D. Davis; Eldon M. Braun; Joan M. Smith (Foreword by)
Call Number: LB 1050.5 .D36 1997
Publication Date: 1997-03-01

How to find books on the topic, The Reading Brain & Dyslexia:

For help with subject keywords, go to the full Description of the displayed titles.

Reading keywords	Brain keywords	Dyslexia subject headings
Reading disability Reading, remedial Language development Language disorders Speech pathology	Brain Neuroscience Neuropsychology Neural systems Cerebral dominance Cerebellum Learning physiology Physiopathology	Dyslexia Dyslexic children

Using keywords from relevant subject headings, construct an Advanced Search in WorldCat.

The truncation symbol (*) finds results with any ending
AND finds results with BOTH terms
OR finds results with EITHER term

Need Help Citing your Books?

MLA Style sheet for the 8th (2016) edition & style sheets for APA & Chicago styles

How to find articles by using PubMed Central (PMC):

Go to the library homepage and click the Databases tab. Then select PubMed Central and try this Advanced Search:

For more help with PubMed Central, please go to the library homepage and look under the Databases tab for "PubMed Help."

How to find articles using ERIC:

Go to the Databases page and select ERIC. Then try this search:

How to find articles in EBSCO databases:

From the Library Databases page, go to EBSCOhost and select EBSCOhost Web. Then choose databases. Try the following search and refine your results. For example, you could limit your results to recently published (in the past 5 years), full text articles in peer reviewed journals.

How to find articles by using Google Scholar:

Go to the Databases page on the library website and click Google Scholar (in order to access full text in the library databases). Then change your settings to include Redeemer University College under "Library Links." Try the following search. Notice the number of times an article was cited by other publications.