Skip to Main Content
Topic: Bible Dictionaries & Encyclopedias, Atlases, etc.
The Anchor Bible Dictionary by David Noel Freedman; Anchor Bible Staff
Call Number: REF BS 440 .A54 1992 (vol.1-6)
Publication Date: 1992-06-01
Six years in the making, this state-of-the-art dictionary offers the most up-to-date and comprehensive treatment of biblical subjects and scholarship. An essential reference for every serious reader of the Bible.
Dictionary of the Old Testament - Pentateuch by David W. Baker (Editor); T. Desmond Alexander (Editor)
Publication Date: 2003-01-13
In exploring the major themes and issues of the Pentateuch, editors T. Desmond Alexander and David W.Baker, with an international and expert group of scholars, inform and challenge through authoritative overviews, detailed examinations and new insights from the world of the ancient Near East.The Dictionary of the Old Testament: Pentateuch is designed to be your first stop in the study and research of the Pentateuch, on which the rest of the Bible is built.
Dictionary of New Testament Background by Craig A. Evans (Editor); Stanley E. Porter (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000-12-16
The Dictionary of New Testament Background can stand alone or work in concert with one or more of its companion volumes in the series. Written by acknowledged experts in their fields, this wealth of knowledge of the New Testament era is carefully aimed at the needs of contemporary students of the New Testament. And its full bibliographies and cross-references to other volumes in the series will make it the first book to reach for in any investigation of the New Testament in its ancient setting.
New Dictionary of Biblical Theology by T. Desmond Alexander (General Editor); Brian S. Rosner (General Editor); Donald A. Carson (Consultant Editor); Graeme Goldsworthy (Consultant Editor)
Publication Date: 2000-12-07
Over 120 contributors drawn from the front ranks of biblical scholarship in the English-speaking world make the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology a work of distinction and a benchmark of evangelical biblical theology at the turn of the twenty-first century. Bibliographies round out all articles, directing readers to research trails leading out of the Dictionary and into crucial studies on every subject. Cross-references throughout send readers through the varied maze of reading pathways, maximizing the usefulness of this volume. Comprehensive, authoritative and easily accessible, the New Dictionary of Biblical Theology is certain to establish itself as an essential resource for students of the Bible and theology.
Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible by David Noel Freedman; Allen C. Myers (Editor); Astrid B. Beck (Editor)
Publication Date: 2000-10-23
The Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible gathers nearly 5,000 alphabetically ordered articles that thoroughly yet clearly explain all the books, persons, places, and significant terms found in the Bible. The Dictionary also explores the background of each biblical book and related writings and discusses cultural, natural, geographical, and literary phenomena--matters that Bible students at all levels may encounter in reading or discussion. Nearly 600 first-rate Bible authorities have contributed to the Eerdmans Dictionary of the Bible. Intended as a tool for practical Bible use, this illustrated dictionary reflects recent archaeological discoveries and the breadth of current biblical scholarship, including insights from critical analysis of literary, historical, sociological, and other methodological issues.
Harper's Encyclopedia of Bible Life by J. Lane Miller; Madeleine S. Miller
Publication Date: 2012-03-06
Here is the ultimate resource on the day to day life of the people who inhabit the pages of the Bible: priests and sailors, musicians and mourners, scribes and craftsmen. A major reference of its kind, this book has been completely revised and updated to incorporate recent archaeological and historical data. This indispensable volume contains 74 subjects in 14 sections, 150 illustrations, completely up-to-date bibliography, scriptural index, charts, maps, diagrams and a general index. The latest findings shed light on agriculture, animals, apparel, nutrition, crafts, business and trade, city life, flowers and plants, homes, music, professions and more.
The Oxford Encyclopedia of Archaeology in the near East
Publication Date: 1996-11-28
This comprehensive five-volume work analyzes the archaeological and linguistic data that pertain to the broad cultural milieu of the ancient Near East, the crossroads of three of the world's most influential religions--Judaism, Christianity, and Islam. This reference brings new breadth to the study of archaeology in the biblical world, making it a valuable resource not only to scholars and students of archaeology, but also to those with an interest in ancient art and architecture, languages, history, and religion.
In the Steps of Jesus: an illustrated guide to the places of the Holy Land by Peter Walker
Publication Date: 2007-10-14
In the Steps of Jesus presents a visually stimulating tour of the places Jesus visited and ministered in during his time on earth as recorded in the Gospels. Each location is addressed separately and includes such cities as Capernaum, Nazareth, and Jerusalem. Full color photos bring to life the ancient world of the Bible few will ever be able to visit in person. With every page, the reader will gain greater insight into the history, geography, and unique features of these historic places. A must-have reference book for those interested in the study of the New Testament and the life of Christ.
Rethinking Holy Land: a study in salvation geography by Marlin Jeschke; David Augsburger (Foreword by)
Publication Date: 2005-12-01
The author's vision for possessing land is a fresh alternative to the historical pattern of conquest and displacement of terrorized populations. Jeschke's careful reading of the biblical narrative offers a redeeming view for stewarding space on God's earth, a way we might call "salvation geography." God's design in salvation history is for a quality of life that sanctifies the whole earth.
Peter Turkstra Library, Redeemer University , 777 Garner Road East, Ancaster, ON, L9K 1J4, Canada Circulation Desk Telephone: 905.648.2139 ext. 4266, Email: email@example.com