Guides: Biblical &amp; Theological Studies: Web Resources

Videos

Scholarly Blogs & Vlogs

AWOL - The Ancient World Online (Charles E. Jones, Librarian, Penn State University, USA)

Focus: Open access material related to the ancient world. Also includes links to open access journals, monographs, ancient language textbooks, and other open access ancient world resources.

Apocryphicity (Dr. Tony Burke, York University, Canada)

Focus: Christian Apocrypha

Bible History Daily (Biblical Archeology Society)

Focus: Archaeology and History

BiblePlaces Blog (Dr. Todd Bolen, The Masters University, USA)

Focus: Biblical Geography, History, Archaeology

Holy Land Photos Blog (Dr. Carl Rasmussen, Professor Emeritus, Bethel University, USA)

Focus: Sites, Peoples, and Events Related to the Bible, Ancient Near East, and Classical Studies

PaleoJudaica.com (Prof. James R. Davila, University of St. Andrews, Scotland)

Focus: The latest news on ancient Judaism and the Biblical World

Prof. Laurence H. Schiffman (New York University, USA)

Focus: Biblical Studies and Judaism

Religion Prof (Dr. James McGrath, Butler University, USA)

Focus: Religious Studies

Variant Readings (Dr. Brent Nongbri, Norwegian School of Theology, Norway)

Focus: History, Religion, Archaeology, Papyrology

The Bible Project
The Bible Project is a non-profit producing outstanding videos clarifying and summarizing the story, themes, motifs, settings and charcters of the books of the Bible, both as individual entities and an over-arching narrative.

Reformed Resources

All of Life Redeemed
Includes bibliographies (including many full text open access links) for Abraham Kuyper, Herman Dooyeweerd, and D. H. Th. Vollenhoven.
more...less...
"The aim of All of Life Redeemed is to make accessible information, articles and books from a Reformational perspective. Reformational philosophy maintains that the lordship of Jesus Christ extends to every area and aspect of life. No area of life is neutral, and all areas need to be redeemed. The pioneers of Reformational philosophy were Herman Dooyeweerd, D. H. Th. Vollenhoven and A. Janse. They built upon the foundations laid by Groen van Prinsterer and Abraham Kuyper."
Calvinism Resources Database (CaRD)
This database provides bibliographic information for articles, essays, and lectures produced from the 16th century to the present which deal with John Calvin and 16th century Calvinism.
more...less...
In 1971 the Calvinism Resources Database (CaRD) began as a "Calvin Bibliography" covering the years 1960-1970. It was compiled by Joseph N. Tylenda, a Jesuit priest, and published in the Calvin Theological Journal. Since that time, the Journal has published annually in its November issue the "Calvin Bibliography".

The bibliography and database are maintained by the curator of the H. Henry Meeter Center for Calvin Studies, and are updated regularly.
Christian Reformed Church Periodical Index
"Welcome to the Christian Reformed Church Periodical Index (CRCPI)
This database contains over 100,000 records and provides access to bibliographic citations for the Banner and other CRC-related publications. Specifically, official publications of the Christian Reformed Church or its institutions, or those which have a significant number of contributors who are affiliated with the CRC or its institutions."
The Dooyeweerd Pages
The Dooyeweerd Pages is a growing website designed to aid scholars in understanding the philosophical framework of the late Herman Dooyeweerd."
Neo-Calvinism Research Institute
Bibliographies and archives for Bavinck and Kuyper
Platform for the studies of the Heidelberg Catechism (Leiden University)
This website provides information about the HC and its study. Includes its history, editions, explanations, and related publications.
Post-Reformation Digital Library (Junius Institute)
"a select database of digital books relating to the development of theology and philosophy during the Reformation and Post-Reformation/Early Modern Era (late 15th-18th c.). Late medieval and patristic works printed and referenced in the early modern era are also included. "
Reformational Academic Library
Includes "Kuyperiana" (writings by and about A. Kuyper). Also includes writings by and about Calvin, van Prinsterer, Dooyeweerd and others under the "Guest" tab.
Westminster Assembly Project
The Westminster Assembly Project exists to make the writings of the Westminster Assembly and its members available to scholars and to the general public.

Online Resource Guides

ACL - Biblical & Theological Studies Research Guide
"from the Bible Core Section (BCS) of the Association of Christian Librarians (ACL). This guide is an on-going project of BCS and will introduce you to resources and research skills related to Biblical and Theological Studies. The guide focuses on facilitating access to resources that are freely available on the internet."
ATLA Libguides: Websites on Religion
A selective, annotated broad-ranging collection of web resources for the study of religion that is compiled by ATLA, an association of religion and theology librarians and information professionals. Includes a section on Biblical Literature.
The Bible and Interpretation (University of Arizona)
"designed to appeal to a significant public and scholarly audience who are interested in the most current news and interpretations on the Bible and ancient Near East history."
Bible Odyssey (Society of Biblical Literature)
"the world’s leading scholars share the latest historical and literary research on key people, places, and passages of the Bible"
Biblical Studies Online (Prof. James Crossley; Dr. Deane Galbraith)
"The goal of Biblical Studies Online is to provide both biblical scholars and the interested wider public with ease of access to quality biblical scholarship, as it comes available online."
Biblical Weblinks (Tyndale House)
A wiki maintained containing links to useful biblical studies related resources. Main categories are Bibles, Bibles, Biblical Studies, Background, Beyond Biblical Studies, Literature, and Software and Web-apps.
Blue Letter Bible
Blue Letter Bible provides powerful tools for an in-depth study of God's Word through our free online reference library, with study tools that are grounded in the historical, conservative Christian faith.
ESV Online
The ESV (English Standard Version) online has a valuable search engine that organizes search results according to the books of the Bible. You can define/restrict your search to books or sections of the Bible.
The Jewish History Resource Center (Hebrew University, Israel)
6300+ links to websites and online resources related to Jewish History. Grouped into 30+ categories.
Open Access Digital Technology Library
The OADTL provides access to almost 200,000 books, 10 million articles, more than 6,200 journals, 85 databases and research aids. It curates high-quality content in religious studies and other disciplines
Religious Studies Web Guide (Library of Congress; University of Calgary Library)
Focuses on free (open-access) internet resources ( bibliographies/indexes, library and archive catalogues, dictionaries/encyclopedias, e-texts and journals) supporting the academic study of religion."
Resource Pages for Biblical studies (Dr. Torrey Seland)
Good collection of online resources for Biblical studies. Grouped into three broad categories: Texts and Translations, Social World of the NT, and Philo of Alexandria.
Virtual Religion Index (Dr. Mahlon Smith)
Virtual Religion Index is a tool for students with little time. It analyzes & highlights important content of religion-related websites to speed research." Includes a large section of Biblical studies links/resources.