Skip to main content

Margaret Eaton School Digital Collection: Our Collection

Physical Collection

The Margaret Eaton School Collection

The Margaret Eaton School Collection was created by Dr. John Byl, Professor Emeritus of Physical Education at Redeemer University College, who gathered 17,500 archival materials from alumnae of the Margaret Eaton School. These documents are now preserved in the Peter Turkstra Library at Redeemer University College. The collection includes letters, pamphlets, postcards, yearbooks, scrapbooks, books, financial records, correspondence, newspaper clippings, textbooks, photographs, a school sweater, student files and notes, photographs, and photo albums. From 2015-17, this archival collection was digitized and made available to the public on the Internet Archive platform. It is known as the Margaret Eaton School Digital Collection.

Introduction to the Margaret Eaton School Digital Collection, by John Byl

The Margaret Eaton School (1901-1942) was a Toronto post-secondary school for women, with an emphasis on physical education. Dr. John Byl, Professor Emeritus of Physical Education at Redeemer University College, has gathered 17,500 archival materials from alumnae. In this video, Dr. Byl introduces visitors to The Margaret Eaton School Digital Collection, the online platform for these archives.

Description

Scholarship on Margaret Eaton School

Canadian Adaptations of Shakespeare Project.The Margaret Eaton School of Literature and Expression. Retrieved from http://www.canadianshakespeares.ca/essays/margareteaton.cfm

Byl, J. (1992). The Margaret Eaton School, 1901-1942: Women's Education in Elocution, Drama and Physical Education.  

Byl, J. (1993). Why Physical Educators Should Know About the Margaret Eaton School. CAHPER Journal, 59/1, 10-13.

Byl, J. (1996). Directing Physical Education in the Canadian YWCAs: Margaret Eaton School's Influence, 1901-1947. Sport History Review, 27/2.

Lathrop, A. (1997). Elegance and Expression, Sweat and Strength, Body Training, Physical Culture and Female Embodiment in Women's Education at the Margaret Eaton Schools, 1901-1041. National Library of Canada.

Lathrop, A. H. (1999) Portrait of "A Physical": A Case Study of Elizabeth Pitt Barron (1904-98). Historical Studies in Education/Revue d'histoire de l'éducation 11:2.

Peter Turkstra Library,  Redeemer University College , 777 Garner Road East, Ancaster, ON, L9K 1J4, Canada
Circulation Desk Telephone: 905.648.2139 ext. 4266, Email:   library@redeemer.ca