Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Library HoursLibrary SearchOff-campus AccessRenew LoansRedeemer AppRedeemer UniversityCollege

Library

 

What is WorldCat? It is a union catalogue of 72,000 libraries around the world. Watch WorldCat Grow. 

Search Commands . . . To Be More Specific

  • au: author, e.g. au: c.s. lewis
  • ti: title, e.g. ti: romeo and juliet
  • su: subject search for books entirely devoted to the topic
  • kw: keyword search for books with a chapter on the topic
    • su: calvin AND kw: institutes
  • lc: library call number, e.g. lc: DT*
  • pb: publisher, e.g. pb: oxford press
  • isbn: search with or without hyphens
  • mt: main target audience, e.g. mt: juv [for juvenile/children's books]
  • truncation *  e.g.:religio* [finds religion, religious, religiosity]
  • AND finds both, e.g. religion AND teens
  • OR finds either, e.g. teens OR youth
  • Combine AND & OR, using parentheses
    •  (religio* OR faith) AND (teen* OR youth)
    •  (su: religio* OR faith) AND (su: youth OR teen*)
    • kw: calvin AND (jean OR john)
  • Phrase searching: ti: "crime and punishment"
  • NOT excludes, e.g. NOT (mt: juvenile OR su: fiction) [excludes children's books and fiction]

Do a preliminary search on your topic, e.g., "Christian perspectives on movies":

View the Descriptions of relevant books and notice the Subjects field:

Then try an Advanced Search using keywords from the above Subject headings:

AND finds all terms

OR finds either term

religio* (* truncation symbol) finds any ending, e.g., religion, religious, religiosity

The library is arranged by subject, using the Library of Congress call number system -- which is used by most academic libraries. Scroll down for an outline of the subject arrangement. More details can be found here.

The letters at the top are arranged alphabetically.

Books having the same letter(s) on the top line are distinguished by the numbers that follow, shelved numerically.

If those lines are the same, the books are distinguished by the letters that follow, which are shelved alphabetically.

If those lines are identical, the next numbers are arranged decimally (not numerically).

QM

23

.E6543

QM

23

.E778

QM

23

.E88

QM

23

.E9

QM

23

.E99

QM

23

.E995

QM

23

.E999

A     GENERAL WORKS
    AE Encyclopedias
    AY Almanacs
B     PHILOSOPHY.  PSYCHOLOGY.  RELIGION
    B-BD Philosophy
    BF Psychology
    BH-BJ Aesthetics & Ethics
    BL-BX  Religion
C     AUXILIARY SCIENCES OF HISTORY
    CB History of Civilization
    CC Archaeology
    CT General Biography
D     HISTORY:  GENERAL AND OLD WORLD
    D World History
    DA-DR European History
    DJK-DK Eastern Europe, Russia & Poland
    DS  Asia 
    DT  Africa
    DU Australia, New Zealand
E-F   HISTORY:  AMERICA
    E 11-143 America 
    E 151-     United States History (includes African-American Studies at E 185)
    F 1-975  United States Local History (includes St. Louis at F 474 & Missouri at F 466)
    F 1001-  Other Countries (includes Canada, & countries of Central & South America)
G     GEOGRAPHY.  ANTHROPOLOGY.  RECREATION
    G-GB  Geography
    GE  Environmental Sciences
    GF  Human Ecology
    GN Anthropology
    GT Manners & Customs
    GV Recreation & Leisure
H     SOCIAL SCIENCES
    HA  Statistics
    HB-HD Economics
    HE Transportation & Communication (includes radio & television broadcasting)
    HF Commerce (includes business administration, accounting, advertising & marketing)
    HG Finance
    HJ Public Finance
    HM-HS Sociology
         HM      General Sociology (includes mass media communication, public opinion, & public  relations)
         HQ      Family, Marriage, & Women
    HT Communities, Classes, & Races
    HV Social Pathology, Social & Public Welfare, & Criminology
    HX Socialism, Communism, & Anarchism
J     POLITICAL SCIENCE
    JF  Constitutional History & Government Administration
    JK  United States
    JS  Local Governments (municipal, etc.)
    JX International Law & International Relations
K     LAW
    KF United States Law
L     EDUCATION
    LA   History of Education 
    LB Theory and Practice of Education
    LC Education of Exceptional Individuals
M     MUSIC
N     FINE ARTS
P    LANGUAGE AND LITERATURE
    P Philosophy & Linguistics (includes mass media communication, composition, & rhetoric)
    PA Classical Languages and Literature
    PB Celtic Languages and Literatures
    PC Romance Languages (Italian, French, Catalan, Spanish & Portuguese)
    PD Germanic Languages (Old Germanic, Norwegian, Icelandic, Danish & Swedish)
    PE English Language
    PF West Germanic Languages (Dutch, Flemish, Friesian & German)
    PG Slavic (includes Russian), Baltic & Albanian Languages and Literature
    PJ-PM Oriental Languages & Literatures (includes Egyptian, Coptic, Hebrew, Arabic, Japanese, Chinese, & American Indian)
    PN Literary History & Collections (includes prose, poetry, drama, speech, debate & journalism)
    PQ Romance Literatures
    PR English Literature
    PS American Literature
    PT Germanic Literatures (includes German, Dutch, Flemish, Afrikaans & Scandinavian)
    PZ Children's Literature
Q    SCIENCE
    Q General Science
    QA Mathematics (includes computer science)
    QB Astronomy
    QC  Physics (includes light, spectroscopy, meteorology & climatology)
    QD Chemistry
    QE Geology
    QH Natural History & General Biology
    QK Botany
    QL Zoology
    QM Human Anatomy
    QP Physiology
    QR Microbiology
R    MEDICINE
    R General Medicine (includes Biomedical Engineering at R856-857)
    RA Aspects of Medicine (includes public health & toxicology)
    RC Practice of Medicine (includes speech & language disorders, psychiatry & geriatrics)
    RF Ear (includes audiology), Nose & Throat
    RJ Pediatrics (includes autistic, hyperactive & learning and behaviorally disordered children)
S     AGRICULTURE
T     TECHNOLOGY
T GeneralTechnology
    TA General Engineering
    TD Environmental Technology
    TJ Mechanical Engineering & Machinery
    TK  Electrical Engineering, Electronics, & Nuclear Engineering
    TL Motor Vehicles, Aeronautics & Astronautics
    TP Chemical Technology (includes biotechnology)
    TR Photography
    TS Manufacturers (includes production, industries & products)
U     MILITARY SCIENCE
V     NAVAL SCIENCE

Z     BIBLIOGRAPHY (All subjects).  LIBRARY SCIENCE

1. Select the Filters for eBooks at Redeemer. Then click "View eBook":

2. Check out the Table of Contents:

 

3. Click link to eBook full text

You may need to open up the links to full text (see double arrow below).  Then select the PDF Full Text (to view the eBook without downloading it):

4. Move around in the Ebook

Use the tools to save, email or print pages.

Click the forward or backward arrows to move around.

5. Print or Save pages (Some books have a Page Limit).

6. Use the Tools to get help with Citing (select Cite).

7. Find the Permalink (stable URL) by clicking the chain icon under Tools.

8. Export to a Citation Manager

Additional Help with eBooks on EBSCO:

EBSCO ebooks help:
1. Searching for ebooks and viewing them online (4 minute video).
2. Downloading ebooks for viewing offline on a device (4 minute video).
3. Ebooks on your ipad (2 minute video).
4. Complete help menu for EBSCO ebooks.
5. Troubleshooting tutorials & FAQs for EBSCO ebooks.

Additional links for downloading EBSCO eBooks:
1. You will need to download (and install) free Adobe Digital Editions.
2. Create a folder account on MyEBSCOhost (5 minute video).

COVID-19 and the Redeemer Library

The library is now open to on-campus students, faculty and staff. 

See our longer open hours here.

Students who choose remote learning still have access to:

Librarians are eager to help, by email or book an appointment. Tell us your topic and we'll send you e-resources.

In order to mitigate the spread of the virus, the following measures are in place:

We are offering loans to current students, faculty and staff. Visitors are not welcome on campus (including community borrowers, alumni, and past/retired faculty and staff), and if you fall into one of these groups, please return your loans to the front reception desk at the main office (at Security Desk after hours). 

All public computers have been removed. Staplers and other shared equipment will have a ready supply of hand sanitizer and cleansers. We will have an online payment system. 

We are offering online self-booking of Group Study Rooms. The rooms will remain unlocked and we will not be checking out keys, to reduce the risk of spreading the virus.  Please respect the bookings of your fellow students.

All items must be returned via the book drop in the stairwell outside the library. Returned items will be quarantined for 24 hours. Check-ins will be back dated to prevent the occurrence of fines/notices during this quarantine period. 

In order to minimize the exchange/handling of high-traffic loans, we are eliminating Course Reserves. All assigned readings will be made available electronically by faculty through their Discovery course pages.

The library is a public space and face masks are required in all areas including individual study carrels and group study rooms.  Plexiglass barriers have been installed at the Circulation Desk and the large study tables.

If you have any questions, email us at library@redeemer.ca.

The library is now closed. If you have any loans, just hang on to them until we reopen (Sept.8). For the time being, no library fines will be charged for items that are overdue. Our library system may have sent you an auto-generated overdue notice, but you can safely ignore it (for now).

  • We will reopen September 8 and then we will begin charging fines for overdue loans as usual. If you have any library materials that were checked out before we closed in March, they will be due September 29, 2020.
  • If you do not return them by Sept.29, we will begin charging late fees at that point.
  • All items will be returned via the book drop in the stairwell outside the library.
  • Returned items will be quarantined until they are safe to handle. Check-ins will be back dated to prevent overdue fines/notices during this quarantine period.

If you have any questions, email us at library@redeemer.ca.

Web-based help:

For help with searching the databases, check the tabs across the top of the Databases page.

Go to the Research Guides for help finding resources related to specific course essay topics.

For help with Ebooks, see the "Ebooks help" Tab just above the catalogue search box.

Go to Off Campus Access for more information about remote access to our e-resources.

Interlibrary loan services are restricted to electronic resources.

If you have questions about loans, returns, or renewals, email library@redeemer.ca.

For Research Assistance, book an appointment or email a librarian:

  • Marlene Power: mpower@redeemer.ca
  • David Purdy: dpurdy@redeemer.ca

Tell us your topic and we'll send you some e-resources and/or search tips.

Peter Turkstra Library,  Redeemer University , 777 Garner Road East, Ancaster, ON, L9K 1J4, Canada
Circulation Desk Telephone: 905.648.2139 ext. 4266, Email:   library@redeemer.ca