Canada Commons"The definitive database for Canadian studies, with over 200,000 policy and government documents. Formerly known as the Canadian Electronic Library, . . . it includes over 25,000 e-books from leading independent Canadian publishers and university presses." (https://coherentdigital.net/)
CPA Handbook, CICA Handbook (Knotia)(CICA Handbook) Canadian Institute of Chartered Accountants,
Canadian Auditing Standards,
CPA Canada Handbook - Accounting XFI,
CPA Canada Standards and Guidance Collection (CPACHB)
DimensionsThis is a comprehensive index that is similar to the citation indexes of Web of Science. Each citation provides a list of its references and a citation count plus a list of citing documents. Searches can be limited to open access resources only. For non-open access resources, this is a great place to find what might be available and then search further for it in our databases or on Google Scholar.
DOAJ: Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ is a community-curated online directory that indexes and provides access to high quality, open access, peer-reviewed journals. All data is freely available.
EBSCO servicesGo to EBSCOhost Web and then select one or more databases:
- Academic Search Ultimate
- APA PsycARTICLES
- APA PsycINFO
- ATLA Religion Database
- Business Source Elite
- eBooks (Academic Collection)
- Humanities International Complete
- MEDLINE with Full Text
- SocINDEX with Full Text
- SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Gale Virtual Reference Library15 multi-volume encyclopedias and reference sources related to:
film, biography, business, education, religion, history, geography, literature, medicine, and science
Google ScholarUse this link for more full text, or change your Google Scholar settings to include Library Links at Redeemer.
HathiTrust Digital Library (Millions of Books Online)HathiTrust is a partnership of academic & research institutions, offering a collection of millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world as well as content digitized via the Google Books project and Internet Archive digitization initiatives. Hathi, pronounced "hah-tee," is the Hindi word for "elephant," an animal famed for its long-term memory.
IBIS World"IBISWorld offers web-based, 'off-the-shelf' research reports on thousands of global industries."
Canada Commons includes an extensive collection of Canadian materials, including:
25,000 eBooks from scholarly and independent publishers
180,000 public policy papers from think tanks and government sources
Over 200,000 titles available
A 4,000 entry directory of Canadian research and government organizations
Accessing Canada Commons
Canada Commons provides more than one way to access their database. In addition to the the EZProxy/IP authentication method we use for all of our library databases, Redeemer staff, faculty and students can create a free individual Canada Commons account that is linked to our institutional subscription through their Redeemer email address. This provides another way to login to Canada Commons when off campus.
Using Canada Commons
For an excellent introduction to and overview of Canada Commons, please see this video produced by Canada Commons.
Select 'EBSCO services' and then 'EBSCOhost Web'
Go to EBSCOhost Web and then select one or more databases:
Academic Search Ultimate
ATLA Religion Database
Business Source Elite
eBooks (Academic Collection)
Humanities International Complete
MEDLINE with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text
SPORTDiscus with Full Text
Choose Database(s) relevant to your topic and Continue:
Advanced Search (adapt these search techniques to your own topic)
My topic is adolescent spirituality (for a psychology course) so I have chosen the PsycINFO and PsycARTICLES databases. I have grouped related terms in each search box, using the OR connector.
The truncation symbol (*) finds results with any ending (e.g. religio* FINDS religion, religious, religiosity)
AND finds results with BOTH terms (e.g. spirituality AND adolescent)
OR finds results with EITHER term (e.g. adolescents OR teenagers OR youth)
My search terms will be in the Subject Terms field so the articles will be ABOUT this
Refine your Results
Use the limiters to refine your search results:
Read the Abstracts & Add Records to your Folder
For more information about an article, select the title. In the full record display you will find the abstract (summary of the article). Click the folder icon in order to add it to your folder. Once you've selected your records, you can save, print, or export an entire folder.
View your folder contents and select the articles and output options.
Select the title for Full Record Display & Help with Citing the Source
View the full record display in order to get help with citing this article (APA, MLA, Chicago style).
Citing Help: Select Cite and then scroll down to the style of your choice
On the Tools menu, select Permalink (Permanent URL):
Select Permalink in the bottom right.
A box with the permanent URL will appear at the top of the record.
Copy and paste it.
Sign in to MyEBSCO: Create a personalized account
Click Sign In near the top of your screen (or the hamburger menu on a mobile device).
Click "Create a new Account."
Follow the steps to create an account with a password of your own choice.
Once you have an account, you can save your search results into folders for future reference.
You can share your folders with others (e.g. for group work).
Creating Folders in MyEBSCO (for future reference or sharing with others)
Inside your own account in MyEBSCO, click the New Folder icon.
A window will open which asks you to provide a Folder Name, e.g. "Adolescent Spirituality"
Once you have created a new Folder, go back to My Folder.
Select the articles you'd like to move.
Click "Move To" and select your folder from the list that appears.
Exporting references to a Citation Manager
Open the Tools and select Export. Then select the citation manager of your choice, e.g. Zotero or RefWorks.
Select a Citation Manager
Check the thesaurus for ERIC descriptors (subject headings) on the topic, "Introverts & Extraverts":
Go to the Databases page and select ERIC. Check the thesaurus for ERIC descriptors (subject headings):
Then try the following search:
How to link Google Scholar with Redeemer Library:
1. Select Settings under the Collapse Menu Button.
2. Select Library links and type Redeemer University College into the search bar. Check the box beside Redeemer University College Library - Find it at Redeemer. Select save.
How to find articles on Google Scholar:
Try the following search. Notice the number of times an article was Cited byother authors.
Select the JSTOR database ("Journal Storage") and go to the Advanced Search. You can filter (narrow) your results by item type (e.g. Articles), Date of publication, and Language. You can also narrow by subject discipline of the journals, e.g. Language & Literature.
Select the Pressreader database and press the search icon at the top of the page then select Advanced Search. You can filter (narrow) your results by Language, Publications, Author, or Date. You can further filter your Publication search by either Country or Category or a combination of both.
How to find PubMed articles on the topic, "Introverts & Extraverts" using the Advanced Search: